Library CatalogsSDCC Library Catalog --
http://sdcclib.smmnet.org:8181/InfoCentre/PickALibrary.do?library=556655SDPL Library Catalog --
https://sddp.sirsi.net/uhtbin/cgisirsi/x/x/0/49/the Circuit Catalog --
http://circuit.sdsu.edu/Search the library's online catalog using
Advanced Search, for
California -- Civilization by SUBJECT, click on
Browse icon
or type in the KEYWORD for California. SUBJECT search results using the
Browse feature are subdivided into more specific subjects such as
History,
Social conditions or
Gold discoveries, etc. KEYWORD search will yield a continuous list of results without subdivisions. In a KEYWORD search it is also possible to search two or more terms, for example,
California AND Indians, or
California AND Women.
Subject HeadingsCalifornia -- Civilization
California--Gold discoveries--Social aspects.California -- History
California--Social conditions--19th centuryCalifornia, Southern--HistoryDepressions--1929--CaliforniaEarthquakes--California--San Francisco Bay Area.Frontier and pioneer life--California.Golden Gate Bridge (San Francisco, Calif.) Gold mines and mining -- California.
Indians of North America--California.Indians of North America--Missions--CaliforniaIndians, Treatment of--California--History.Japanese Americans--California [ethnic group -- geographic location]Japanese Americans--Evacuation and relocation, 1942-1945.Los Angeles (Calif.)--History
Missions--California--HistoryMissions, Spanish--California--History.Motion picture industry--California--Los Angeles--History. Prisons -- California -- Alcatraz Island.Railroads -- California -- History. [also United States ; West (U.S)]San Francisco (Calif.)--HistorySpanish mission buildings--CaliforniaWomen pioneers--California--HistoryWomen--California--History.World War, 1939-1945--California.BooksCalifornia history sesquicentennial series
- A golden state : mining and economic development in gold rush California. Berkeley, Calif. : University of California Press, c1999. 330. 979404 G618s
- Rooted in barbarous soil : people, culture, and community in Gold Rush California. Berkeley : University of California Press, c2000. 979.404 R783i
- Taming the elephant : politics, government, and law in pioneer California. Berkeley : University of California Press, c2003. 979.404 T158e
- Contested Eden : California before the Gold Rush. Berkeley : University of California Press, c1998. 979.4 C761e
Gregory, George H.
Alcatraz screw my years as a guard in America's most notorious prison. Columbia, MO : University of Missouri Press, c2002.
ebook Hayes, Derek.
Historical atlas of California : with original maps. Berkeley, Calif. : University of California Press, c2007.
Atlas 911.794 H417h Lake, Alison. Colonial rosary the Spanish and Indian missions of California. Athens, Ohio : Swallow Press/Ohio University Press, c2006. ebook Levick, Melba, et al. The missions of California. San Francisco : Chronicle Books, c1998. 917.94 L664m Levy, Jo Ann. They saw the elephant : women in the California gold rush. Hamden, Ct. : Archon Books, 1990. @ SDPL & SDCLOrsi, Richard J. Sunset limited the Southern Pacific Railroad and the development of the American West, 1850-1930. Berkeley : University of California Press, c2005. ebookPourade, Richard F. The HIstory of San Diego (7 vols) San Diego: Union-Tribune Pub. Co, 196-.
Richards, Leonard L.
The California Gold Rush and the coming of the Civil War. New York : Alfred A. Knopf, 2007.
979.404 R516c Secrest, William B.
When the great spirit died : the destruction of the California Indians, 1850-1860. Sanger, CA : Word Dancer Press, c2003.
979.400497 S446w Smythe, William E.
History of San Diego 1852-1908.
http://www.sandiegohistory.org/books/smythe/index.htmStarr, Kevin. Americans and the California dream, 1850-1915. New York : Oxford University Press, 1973. ebook----- Coast of dreams California on the edge, 1990-2002. New York : distributed by Random House, 2004. ebook----- The dream endures California enters the 1940s. New York : Oxford University Press, 1997. ebook ----- Embattled dreams California in war and peace, 1940-1950. New York : Oxford University Press, 2002. ebook----- Inventing the dream California through the Progressive Era. New York : Oxford University Press, 1985. ebook----- Material dreams Southern California through the 1920's. New York : Oxford University Press, 1990. ebookSturtevant, William C., gen. ed.
Handbook of the North American Indians. Washington: Smithsonian Institution, 1978-
A 20-volume encyclopedia summarizing knowledge about all Native peoples north of Mesoamerica, including cultures, languages, history, prehistory, and human biology. Standard reference work for anthropologists, historians, students, and the general reader. Chapters by the main authorities on each topic. Area volumes include separate chapters on all tribes. Heavily illustrated, extensive bibliographies, well indexed. Each volume may be purchased and used independently.
Vol. 8: California Robert F. Heizer, Vol. Ed. 72 chapters on Indians of California. 816 pp. S/N 047-000-00347-4. 1978. @ SDPL
Thomson, David.
The whole equation : a history of Hollywood. New York : Alfred A. Knopf, 2005.
ebook Udall, Stewart L.
The forgotten founders rethinking the history of the Old West. Covelo, Calif. : Shearwater Books, c2002.
ebook PeriodicalsCalifornia History -- California History magazine, the official magazine of CHS, is dedicated to the study and promotion of all aspects of state and western history from pre-Columbian to modern times. Continuously published since 1922, California History is illustrated with historic photographs and images reproduced from the society's significant collections and from other leading collections in California and the West. Indexed in American History & Life. Full text - in 2001-present in Academic OneFILE @ San Diego Public Library.
Journal of San Diego History --
The Journal of San Diego History is published quarterly by the San Diego Historical Society with the cooperation of the University of San Diego. It began publication in 1955, making it the city's longest running chronicle of history. It includes illustrated articles about San Diego history, book reviews, and booknotes. http://www.sandiegohistory.org/journal/journal.htm Full text from 01/01/1978 to present in Library's Print Collection.California Historian -- The California Historian is the flagship publication -- one of the many benefits of membership in the CCHS. As time permits, we will be posting an index of important articles in past issues. Some of the
articles and book reviews will be posted on this site.
http://www.californiahistorian.com/magazine.htmlDatabasesAmerica History & Life -- The definitive index of literature covering the history and culture of the United States and Canada, from prehistory to the present. With indexing for 1,700 journals from 1964 to present.
Librarian's Internet Index (LII) is a publicly-funded website and weekly newsletter serving
California, the nation, and the world.
http://lii.org/ LII was created by librarians and information specialists in California & catalogs good, recommended websites.
Historical Societies, Museums, Associations, etc.California Historical Society
http://www.californiahistoricalsociety.org/main.htmlSan Diego Historical Society
http://www.sandiegohistory.org/California Historical Landmarks
http://ohp.parks.ca.gov/default.asp?page_id=21387California Historian
http://www.californiahistorian.com/index.htmlCalifornia State Railroad Museum
http://www.csrmf.org/default.aspSan Diego Railroad Museum
http://www.sdrm.org/California State Library -- California History Links -- Links to good websites on California History.
http://www.library.ca.gov/research/moreLinks.html#calHistCA.gov -- History & Government (links)
http://www.ca.gov/HomeFamily/JFK_History.htmlDigital CollectionsOnline Archive of California -- The
OAC brings together historical materials from a variety of California institutions, including museums, historical societies, and archives. Over 120,000 images; 50,000 pages of documents, letters, and oral histories; and 8,000 guides to collections are available.
http://www.oac.cdlib.org/Digital Collections Registry -- This registry highlights 906 publicly accessible digital collections which are hosted by the partners and allies of the
Digital Library Federation (DLF).Library CollectionsSan Diego Public Library San Francisco History Center http://sfpl.lib.ca.us/librarylocations/sfhistory/sfhistory.htmFor Teachers (good juvenile works for student research) BouleĢ, Mary Null.
California Native American Tribes: [Name of Tribe]. Vashon, Wash: Merryant Pub, 1992. @SDPL
Bk. 1. Achumawi -- bk. 2. Atsugewi -- bk. 3. Cahuilla -- bk. 4. Chumash -- bk. 5. Ipai-Tipai (Diegueño) -- bk. 6. Gabrielino -- bk. 7. Hupa -- bk. 8. Karok -- bk. 9. Juaneño-Luiseño -- bk. 10. Maidu-Konkow -- bk. 11. Coast Miwok -- bk. 12. Eastern Miwok -- bk. 13. Lake Miwok -- bk. 14. Ohlone -- bk. 15. Patwin -- bk. 16. Western & Northeastern Pomo -- bk. 17. Eastern & Southeastern Pomo -- bk. 18. Salinan -- bk. 19. Shasta -- bk. 20. Tolowa -- bk. 21. Tubatulabal -- bk. 22. Wintu -- bk. 23. Valley Yokut -- bk. 24. Foothill Yokut -- bk. 25. Yuki -- bk. 26. Yurok-- bk. 27. Mohave tribe.
Malinowski, Sharon.
The Gale Encyclopedia of Native American Tribes. Detroit: Gale, 1998. @SDPL
A good reference work with bibliographies for each entry. v. 1. Northeast, Southeast, Caribbean -- v. 2. Great Basin, Southwest, Middle America -- v. 3. Arctic, Subarctic, Great Plains, Plateau -- v. 4. California, Pacific Northwest, Pacific Islands.
Nelson, Libby, and Kari A. Cornell.
Projects & Layouts. California missions. Minneapolis, Minn: Lerner Publications, 1998. @SDPL
Gives instructions for building a model of a California mission building. Also includes a brief history of the missions and their building techniques.