Already a member?
Sign in
Country Studies
REFERENCE WORKS
Barrett, David B., George Thomas Kurian, and Todd M. Johnson. World Christian Encyclopedia: A Comparative Survey of Churches and Religions in the Modern World. Oxford: Oxford University Press, 2001. R 230.03 W927c v.1-2
Cohen, Saul Bernard. The Columbia Gazetteer of the World. New York: Columbia University Press, 1998. R 910.3 C726g v.1-3 Great geographical information including latitude/longitude, area, and history for countries, cities and geographic features like rivers and mountains.
The Europa World Year Book 2004. London: Europa, 2004. R 909.829 E89w 2004 v.1-2 Great statistical source for vital statistics like population, birth, death, education, economics and trade, etc.
Martin, Frederick, John Scott Keltie, Isaac Parker Anderson Renwick, Mortimer Epstein, S. H. Steinberg, and John Paxton. The Statesman's Year-Book. London [etc.]: Palgrave [etc.], 1864. R 320.058 S797y 2008 Includes information by country.
Johnstone, Patrick J. St. G. Operation World. Carlisle, Cumbria, UK: Paternoster Lifestyle, 2001. 266 J73o 6 [Currently on Reserve] Designed for as a tool for prayer, this manual provides excellent breakdowns of the religions and missionary efforts of each country.
The World almanac and book of facts. New York: World Telegram, 1902- . R 031.02 W927a 2008 Although the entry is brief for each country, the almanac is updated yearly so the data maybe more current than other sources.
Greenwood Press has a series of books titled Culture and Customs of [country name]. The library has 12 titles (10 in ebook format). This series can also be found at the San Diego County Library and San Diego Public Library.
ATLASES (PRINT WORKS)
George Philip & Son, and Oxford University Press. Atlas of the World. New York: Oxford University Press, 2000. Atlas 912 G348a 8 Statistics, world geography, city maps, world maps and index.
Hammond Incorporated. Hammond Atlas of the World. Maplewood, N.J.: Hammond Inc, 1993. Atlas F 912 H227a Introduction to maps, global issues, physical maps, world politcal map, country/regional maps, statistical tables.
Reise- und Verkehrsverlag. Macmillan Centennial Atlas of the World. New York: Macmillan, 1996. Atlas 912 P712e C Satellite views, world, continent, regional maps, political maps, cities.
DATABASES (ONLINE)
Statesman's Yearbook (available only on campus) -- This site contains the full text of the current edition of The Statesman's Yearbook, regularly updated by our editorial team to reflect recent world events, with extensive search and browse facilities.
Daily Life Through History & World Cultures Today (available at San Diego County Libraries or remotely with SDCL Library card) -- Starting with the 6 volumes of Greenwood Encyclopedia of Daily Life & adding 44 volumes from the critically acclaimed Daily Life through History series, this database includes articles, maps, charts, and primary documents about countries & cultures from around the world.
World Almanac (institutional login required) -- Search for your county in title field & choose The World Almanac & Book of Facts in the results list. Since this is updated yearly, the data maybe more current than other sources. We also have a print copy also. R 031.02 W927a 2008
WEB RESOURCES
Background Notes -- Facts about the land, people, history, government, political conditions, economy, and foreign relations of independent states, some dependencies, and areas of special sovereignty. The Background Notes are updated/revised by the Office of Electronic Information and Publications of the Bureau of Public Affairs as they are received from the Department's regional bureaus. US Dept of State.
BBC Country Profiles -- Full profiles provide an instant guide to history, politics and economic background of countries and territories, and background on key institutions.
CIA World Fact Book -- US government profiles of countries and territories around the world. Information on geography, people, government, transportation, economy, communications...
Country Studies -- The Country Studies Series presents a description and analysis of the historical setting and the social, economic, political, and national security systems and institutions of countries throughout the world. Library of Congress.
Country Profiles -- The profiles offer brief, summarized information on a country’s historical background, geography, society, economy, transportation and telecommunications, government and politics, and national security. Library of Congress.
Ethnologue -- An encyclopedic reference work cataloging all of the world’s 6,912 known living languages. We also have a print copy also: R 410 E84 14 v.1-2
How Far is It? -- Courtesy of Indo.com, this service uses data from the US Census and a supplementary list of cities around the world to find the latitude and longitude of two places, and then calculates the distance between them (as the crow flies). It also provides a map showing the two places, using the Xerox PARC Map Server. A comercial site.
Operation World Websites -- To promote prayer among the people of God and serve as a global reference work for church and mission groups. Use the middle drop-down "country" box to find websites specific information about a country. You can also search by region or category (subject).
Portals to the World -- Selective links providing authoritative, in-depth information about the nations and other areas of the world. They are arranged by country or area with the links for each sorted into a wide range of broad categories. The links were selected by Area Specialists and other Library staff using Library of Congress selection criteria.
Statistical Yearbook for Asia and the Pacific 2007 -- The monitoring of social, economic and environmental development requires the use of data that is comparable across countries and over time. This is realized in the 2007 edition of the Statistical Yearbook for Asia and the Pacific. For the first time in its 50 year history, the Yearbook presents data compiled from global sources maintained by United Nations agencies and other international organizations.
MAPS (ONLINE)
National Geographic -- You can create maps using many geographical features including weather & land use. Because of the interactivity, you can't copy/paste this map, but you can print it.
HRW World Atlas (Holt, Rinehart & Winston) -- Textbook publishers which have created a great set of world, regional & country maps. Copy/paste available.
World Atlas.com -- interactive maps, includes links to maps from outsides sources like the CIA World Fact Book.
Embassy World -- All the World's Maps -- A compilation of each nation's maps - including cities, designed for embassy and diplomatic staff, from various sources.
Barrett, David B., George Thomas Kurian, and Todd M. Johnson. World Christian Encyclopedia: A Comparative Survey of Churches and Religions in the Modern World. Oxford: Oxford University Press, 2001. R 230.03 W927c v.1-2
Cohen, Saul Bernard. The Columbia Gazetteer of the World. New York: Columbia University Press, 1998. R 910.3 C726g v.1-3 Great geographical information including latitude/longitude, area, and history for countries, cities and geographic features like rivers and mountains.
The Europa World Year Book 2004. London: Europa, 2004. R 909.829 E89w 2004 v.1-2 Great statistical source for vital statistics like population, birth, death, education, economics and trade, etc.
Martin, Frederick, John Scott Keltie, Isaac Parker Anderson Renwick, Mortimer Epstein, S. H. Steinberg, and John Paxton. The Statesman's Year-Book. London [etc.]: Palgrave [etc.], 1864. R 320.058 S797y 2008 Includes information by country.
Johnstone, Patrick J. St. G. Operation World. Carlisle, Cumbria, UK: Paternoster Lifestyle, 2001. 266 J73o 6 [Currently on Reserve] Designed for as a tool for prayer, this manual provides excellent breakdowns of the religions and missionary efforts of each country.
The World almanac and book of facts. New York: World Telegram, 1902- . R 031.02 W927a 2008 Although the entry is brief for each country, the almanac is updated yearly so the data maybe more current than other sources.
Greenwood Press has a series of books titled Culture and Customs of [country name]. The library has 12 titles (10 in ebook format). This series can also be found at the San Diego County Library and San Diego Public Library.
ATLASES (PRINT WORKS)
George Philip & Son, and Oxford University Press. Atlas of the World. New York: Oxford University Press, 2000. Atlas 912 G348a 8 Statistics, world geography, city maps, world maps and index.
Hammond Incorporated. Hammond Atlas of the World. Maplewood, N.J.: Hammond Inc, 1993. Atlas F 912 H227a Introduction to maps, global issues, physical maps, world politcal map, country/regional maps, statistical tables.
Reise- und Verkehrsverlag. Macmillan Centennial Atlas of the World. New York: Macmillan, 1996. Atlas 912 P712e C Satellite views, world, continent, regional maps, political maps, cities.
DATABASES (ONLINE)
Statesman's Yearbook (available only on campus) -- This site contains the full text of the current edition of The Statesman's Yearbook, regularly updated by our editorial team to reflect recent world events, with extensive search and browse facilities.
Daily Life Through History & World Cultures Today (available at San Diego County Libraries or remotely with SDCL Library card) -- Starting with the 6 volumes of Greenwood Encyclopedia of Daily Life & adding 44 volumes from the critically acclaimed Daily Life through History series, this database includes articles, maps, charts, and primary documents about countries & cultures from around the world.
World Almanac (institutional login required) -- Search for your county in title field & choose The World Almanac & Book of Facts in the results list. Since this is updated yearly, the data maybe more current than other sources. We also have a print copy also. R 031.02 W927a 2008
WEB RESOURCES
Background Notes -- Facts about the land, people, history, government, political conditions, economy, and foreign relations of independent states, some dependencies, and areas of special sovereignty. The Background Notes are updated/revised by the Office of Electronic Information and Publications of the Bureau of Public Affairs as they are received from the Department's regional bureaus. US Dept of State.
BBC Country Profiles -- Full profiles provide an instant guide to history, politics and economic background of countries and territories, and background on key institutions.
CIA World Fact Book -- US government profiles of countries and territories around the world. Information on geography, people, government, transportation, economy, communications...
Country Studies -- The Country Studies Series presents a description and analysis of the historical setting and the social, economic, political, and national security systems and institutions of countries throughout the world. Library of Congress.
Country Profiles -- The profiles offer brief, summarized information on a country’s historical background, geography, society, economy, transportation and telecommunications, government and politics, and national security. Library of Congress.
Ethnologue -- An encyclopedic reference work cataloging all of the world’s 6,912 known living languages. We also have a print copy also: R 410 E84 14 v.1-2
How Far is It? -- Courtesy of Indo.com, this service uses data from the US Census and a supplementary list of cities around the world to find the latitude and longitude of two places, and then calculates the distance between them (as the crow flies). It also provides a map showing the two places, using the Xerox PARC Map Server. A comercial site.
Operation World Websites -- To promote prayer among the people of God and serve as a global reference work for church and mission groups. Use the middle drop-down "country" box to find websites specific information about a country. You can also search by region or category (subject).
Portals to the World -- Selective links providing authoritative, in-depth information about the nations and other areas of the world. They are arranged by country or area with the links for each sorted into a wide range of broad categories. The links were selected by Area Specialists and other Library staff using Library of Congress selection criteria.
Statistical Yearbook for Asia and the Pacific 2007 -- The monitoring of social, economic and environmental development requires the use of data that is comparable across countries and over time. This is realized in the 2007 edition of the Statistical Yearbook for Asia and the Pacific. For the first time in its 50 year history, the Yearbook presents data compiled from global sources maintained by United Nations agencies and other international organizations.
MAPS (ONLINE)
National Geographic -- You can create maps using many geographical features including weather & land use. Because of the interactivity, you can't copy/paste this map, but you can print it.
HRW World Atlas (Holt, Rinehart & Winston) -- Textbook publishers which have created a great set of world, regional & country maps. Copy/paste available.
World Atlas.com -- interactive maps, includes links to maps from outsides sources like the CIA World Fact Book.
Embassy World -- All the World's Maps -- A compilation of each nation's maps - including cities, designed for embassy and diplomatic staff, from various sources.
Latest page update: made by jewing
, May 6 2008, 6:37 PM EDT
(about this update
About This Update
Edited by jewing
25 words added
25 words deleted
view changes
- complete history)
Edited by jewing
25 words added
25 words deleted
view changes
- complete history)
Keyword tags:
countries
country studies
missions project
regional study
SS 206
More Info: links to this page