Already a member?
Sign in
Dissertations
Locating dissertations on your research topic is never easy and there is not just one comprehensive source (no matter what ProQuest says). The following list describes the resources available to you that include information about (indexing & abstracting) dissertations in the fields of psychology and religion. I also suggest you read the articles listed under Other Resources on the TREN website.
PsycINFO (ESBCO) - A dissertation filter is available on the results list. Do your search first, then click on Dissertation Abstracts. The records will give citation, subjects and abstract. Advantages. The advantage to searching this database is the quality of the indexing using the APA thesaurus. Secondly, you are searching dissertations that have been determined to be important to the field of psychology by APA.
WorldCatDissertations (First Search) - A database of all the dissertations and theses available in WorldCat. You can get to the database by logging into the Research Database WorldCat and selecting the Databases tab -- it's the last database on the list. This database only has citations to dissertations that have been cataloged into the participating libraries' catalogs. Advantages. You now know which libraries have holdings and you might be able to Interlibrary Loan the dissertation.
Digital Dissertations (ProQuest) — This database includes comprehensive coverage of arts & humanities & social science in academic U.S. research with indexing and abstracts to scholarly doctoral dissertations and master’s theses. Some records include 24 page preview of the dissertation and a link to Order a Copy.
ERIC - The world's largest source of education information, containing abstracts of documents and journal articles on education research and practice, including descriptions and evaluations of programs, research reports and surveys, ...and dissertations. To search for dissertations in ERIC you need to use the web version (www.eric.ed.gov/), go to Advanced Search, under Publication Types, select Dissertations/Theses. Advantages. If you are doing research involving children or young adults, some relevant research might be listed here.
Networked Digital Library of Theses and Dissertations - A catalog of electronic theses and dissertations at participating universities. (www.ndltd.org/browse) VTLS Visualizer has more filters of the result lists. Scirus ETD Search offers an Advanced Search with limits by search field (author, title, etc.), date range, and discipline/subject area. Advantages. International in scope, searching digital collections (full text) in various formats.
Research in Ministry (RIM®) Online (ATLA) - RIM® Online is a freely available database (rim.atla.com/star/rimonline_login.htm) that indexes DMin and DMiss projects from reporting schools of theology accredited by the Association of Theological Schools in the United States and Canada. Indexing began in 1981. Author, title, project advisor, institution, and subject access are provided. In addition, an abstract for each project is included when one has been provided by the author. Advantages. Biblical integration. ATS schools reporting research being done by member schools of theology.
Theological Research Exchange Network (TREN) - The Theological Research Exchange Network (www.tren.com/) is a library of over 10,000 theological thesis/dissertation titles representing research from as many as 70 different institutions. TREN also makes available conference papers presented at annual meetings of several academic societies. Very clunky searching but, hey, it's free. Also citations only, but you can buy the print, CDROM, or fiche or order a digital e-doc. Advantages. Biblical integration. TREN also has a great page under Other Resources which lists articles that might help you in your dissertation research.
Finding Full Text - Many of the databases mentioned only provide indexing and abstracts to dissertations. Digital Dissertations and TREN allow you to purchase copies in various formats. You can also try to borrow a copy from another library using Interlibrary Loan.
PsycINFO (ESBCO) - A dissertation filter is available on the results list. Do your search first, then click on Dissertation Abstracts. The records will give citation, subjects and abstract. Advantages. The advantage to searching this database is the quality of the indexing using the APA thesaurus. Secondly, you are searching dissertations that have been determined to be important to the field of psychology by APA.
WorldCatDissertations (First Search) - A database of all the dissertations and theses available in WorldCat. You can get to the database by logging into the Research Database WorldCat and selecting the Databases tab -- it's the last database on the list. This database only has citations to dissertations that have been cataloged into the participating libraries' catalogs. Advantages. You now know which libraries have holdings and you might be able to Interlibrary Loan the dissertation.
Digital Dissertations (ProQuest) — This database includes comprehensive coverage of arts & humanities & social science in academic U.S. research with indexing and abstracts to scholarly doctoral dissertations and master’s theses. Some records include 24 page preview of the dissertation and a link to Order a Copy.
ERIC - The world's largest source of education information, containing abstracts of documents and journal articles on education research and practice, including descriptions and evaluations of programs, research reports and surveys, ...and dissertations. To search for dissertations in ERIC you need to use the web version (www.eric.ed.gov/), go to Advanced Search, under Publication Types, select Dissertations/Theses. Advantages. If you are doing research involving children or young adults, some relevant research might be listed here.
Networked Digital Library of Theses and Dissertations - A catalog of electronic theses and dissertations at participating universities. (www.ndltd.org/browse) VTLS Visualizer has more filters of the result lists. Scirus ETD Search offers an Advanced Search with limits by search field (author, title, etc.), date range, and discipline/subject area. Advantages. International in scope, searching digital collections (full text) in various formats.
Research in Ministry (RIM®) Online (ATLA) - RIM® Online is a freely available database (rim.atla.com/star/rimonline_login.htm) that indexes DMin and DMiss projects from reporting schools of theology accredited by the Association of Theological Schools in the United States and Canada. Indexing began in 1981. Author, title, project advisor, institution, and subject access are provided. In addition, an abstract for each project is included when one has been provided by the author. Advantages. Biblical integration. ATS schools reporting research being done by member schools of theology.
Theological Research Exchange Network (TREN) - The Theological Research Exchange Network (www.tren.com/) is a library of over 10,000 theological thesis/dissertation titles representing research from as many as 70 different institutions. TREN also makes available conference papers presented at annual meetings of several academic societies. Very clunky searching but, hey, it's free. Also citations only, but you can buy the print, CDROM, or fiche or order a digital e-doc. Advantages. Biblical integration. TREN also has a great page under Other Resources which lists articles that might help you in your dissertation research.
Finding Full Text - Many of the databases mentioned only provide indexing and abstracts to dissertations. Digital Dissertations and TREN allow you to purchase copies in various formats. You can also try to borrow a copy from another library using Interlibrary Loan.
Latest page update: made by jewing
, Feb 29 2008, 5:57 PM EST
(about this update
About This Update
Edited by jewing
view changes
- complete history)
Edited by jewing
view changes
- complete history)
Keyword tags:
dissertation
dissertations
theses
thesis
More Info: links to this page