History Seminar -- Researching the Gettysburg AddressThis is a featured page

This wiki page lists the sources & provides search tips for those sources that were used in HI 300 History Seminar session in the library.

For Fun
Gettysburg Address. If Abraham Lincoln had access to PowerPoint, how would have this beautiful speech been destroyed? http://norvig.com/Gettysburg/

Reference
Great way to get a basic overview of a topic. It might also include a bibliography -- free research. The library provides a growing collection of print and e-reference sources.

Gale Virtual Reference Library
http://ezproxy.smmnet.org:2048/login?url=http://infotrac.galegroup.com/itweb/el17420
Dictionary of American History Stanley I. Kutler, ed. 3rd ed. New York: Charles Scribner's Sons, 2003. 5539 pp. 10 vols.
The first comprehensive revision of this classic reference source, originally published in 1940, features updated and revised entries from previous editions, as well as more than 800 new entries covering recent events and topics not covered previously. This authoritative work serves students, scholars, and general readers interested in a wide range of topics in American history, from the well studied and familiar to the obscure.

Library Catalog
http://sdcclib.smmnet.org:8181/InfoCentre/PickALibrary.do?library=556655
History Seminar -- Researching the Gettysburg Address - Library Resource GuidesSearch the library’s online catalog using Advanced Search, for Lincoln, Abraham -- 1809-1865 by SUBJECT, click on Browse icon or type in the KEYWORD for Abraham Lincoln. SUBJECT search results using the Browse feature are subdivided into more specific subjects such as Assassination, Gettysburg Address or Political and social views, etc. KEYWORD search will yield a continuous list of results without subdivisions. In a KEYWORD search it is also possible to search two or more terms, for example, Abraham Lincoln AND slavery, or Abraham Lincoln AND speeches.

Search the library's online catalog for Gettysburg Address by SUBJECT. Show Full Display of the catalog record. Examine the subject headings from results. Look for other subject headings that might contain information on your topic like: Lincoln, Abraham -- Oratory or Lincoln, Abraham -- Influence.

e-books (ebrary)
You can also search the full-text of ebrary for instances of the Gettysburg Address. Put the search in "quotes" or your results will retrieve Gettysburg AND Address and not the phrase. Try limiting by Lincoln, Abraham by SUBJECT to filter out all the speech and educational books.


Other Library Collections/Catalogs
San Diego Public Library
https://sddp.sirsi.net/uhtbin/cgisirsi/x/x/0/49/
Strong history collection at the downtown Central library branch.

Circuit Catalog
http://circuit.sdsu.edu/
SDSU, UCSD, CalState SM, USD & San Diego County Library
With your SDCL card you can have university print books sent your locate county library branch.

WorldCat
http://ezproxy.smmnet.org:2048/login?url=http://firstsearch.oclc.org/fsip?dbname=worldcat
Collections beyond the county. You can ILL what we don't have.


Research Databases ** Don't forget to try the multidisciplinary databases: Academic Search Premier & Research Library.
Subject-Specific Databases ~ History & Social Sciences

America: History and Life
http://ezproxy.smmnet.org:2048/login?url=http://search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?authtype=ip&profile=ehost&defaultdb=ahl
~ The definitive index of literature covering the history and culture of the United States and Canada, from prehistory to the present. With indexing for 1,700 journals from 1964 to present.
AHL Advanced Search

Use Advanced Search. It has more search boxes and you can select the fields in which your search terms will be searched.

You can Narrow your search results using the Source Types (Academic, Magazine...) or Subjects (Speeches, Rhetoric, Political Speeches...) listed in the panel on the left.


Internet Sources

Library of Congress
The Gettysburg Address (Library of Congress Exhibition)
http://www.loc.gov/exhibits/gadd/

Abraham Lincoln Papers
http://memory.loc.gov/ammem/alhtml/malhome.html
Browse the Collection -- Correspondence

Our Documents National Archives
http://www.ourdocuments.gov/doc.php?flash=true&doc=36
Refer back to the Lincoln Papers -- Correspondence

Avalon Project
http://www.yale.edu/lawweb/avalon/avalon.htm
Documents in Law, History and Diplomacy

Abraham Lincoln Newspaper Archive
http://www.abrahamlincolnarchive.com/Home.aspx
The world's largest provider of online fully searchable historic Abraham Lincoln newspaper articles

Gilder Lehrman Institute of American History
http://www.gilderlehrman.org/
Promotes the study and love of American history

History Now (K-12)
http://www.historynow.org/




No user avatar
jewing
Latest page update: made by jewing , Aug 27 2008, 2:14 PM EDT (about this update About This Update jewing Edited by jewing

59 words added
59 words deleted

view changes

- complete history)
More Info: links to this page
There are no threads for this page.  Be the first to start a new thread.