<?xml version="1.0" encoding="UTF-8"?><?xml-stylesheet href="http://libraryguides.wetpaint.com/xsl/rss2html.xsl" type="text/xsl" media="screen"?><?xml-stylesheet href="http://libraryguides.wetpaint.com/scripts/wpcss/wiki/libraryguides/skin/techiechic/rss" type="text/css" media="screen"?><rss version="2.0" xmlns:dc="http://purl.org/dc/elements/1.1/"><channel><title>Library Resource Guides - Recently Updated Pages</title><link>http://libraryguides.wetpaint.com/pageSearch/updated</link><description>Recently Updated Pages on http://libraryguides.wetpaint.com</description><language>en-us</language><webMaster>info@wetpaint.com</webMaster><pubDate>Wed, 27 Aug 2008 13:14:18 CDT</pubDate><lastBuildDate>Wed, 27 Aug 2008 13:14:18 CDT</lastBuildDate><generator>wetpaint.com</generator><ttl>60</ttl><image><title>Library Resource Guides</title><url>http://www.wetpaint.com/img/logo.gif</url><link>http://libraryguides.wetpaint.com</link><description>Guides to research using a combination of library holdings (books, periodicals, &amp; databases) &amp; webpages.</description></image><item><title>History Seminar -- Researching the Gettysburg Address</title><link>http://libraryguides.wetpaint.com/page/History+Seminar+--+Researching+the+Gettysburg+Address</link><author>jewing</author><guid isPermaLink="false">http://libraryguides.wetpaint.com/page/History+Seminar+--+Researching+the+Gettysburg+Address</guid><pubDate>Wed, 27 Aug 2008 13:14:18 CDT</pubDate><description>This wiki page lists the sources &amp;amp; provides search tips for those sources that were used in HI 300 History Seminar session in the library.&lt;br&gt;&lt;br&gt;&lt;b&gt;&lt;font size=&quot;4&quot;&gt;For Fun&lt;/font&gt;&lt;/b&gt;&lt;br&gt;Gettysburg Address. If Abraham Lincoln had access to PowerPoint, how would have this beautiful speech been destroyed? &lt;a class=&quot;external&quot; href=&quot;http://libraryguides.wetpaint.comhttp://norvig.com/Gettysburg/&quot; rel=&quot;nofollow&quot; target=&quot;_blank&quot;&gt;&lt;font color=&quot;#0000ff&quot;&gt;http://norvig.com/Gettysburg/&lt;/font&gt;&lt;/a&gt;&lt;br&gt;&lt;br&gt;&lt;b&gt;&lt;font size=&quot;4&quot;&gt;Reference&lt;/font&gt;&lt;/b&gt;&lt;br&gt;Great way to get a basic overview of a topic. It might also include a bibliography -- free research. The library provides a growing collection of print and e-reference sources.&lt;br&gt;&lt;br&gt;&lt;a class=&quot;external&quot; href=&quot;http://libraryguides.wetpaint.comhttp://ezproxy.smmnet.org:2048/login?url=http://infotrac.galegroup.com/itweb/el17420&quot; rel=&quot;nofollow&quot; target=&quot;_blank&quot;&gt;&lt;font color=&quot;#810081&quot;&gt;&lt;b&gt;Gale Virtual Reference Library&lt;/b&gt;&lt;/font&gt;&lt;/a&gt;&lt;br&gt;&lt;a class=&quot;external&quot; href=&quot;http://libraryguides.wetpaint.comhttp://ezproxy.smmnet.org:2048/login?url=http://infotrac.galegroup.com/itweb/el17420&quot; rel=&quot;nofollow&quot; target=&quot;_blank&quot;&gt;http://ezproxy.smmnet.org:2048/login?url=http://infotrac.galegroup.com/itweb/el17420&lt;/a&gt;&lt;br&gt;&lt;i&gt;Dictionary of American History &lt;/i&gt;Stanley I. Kutler, ed. 3rd ed. New York: Charles Scribner&amp;#39;s Sons, 2003. 5539 pp. 10 vols. &lt;br&gt;The first comprehensive revision of this classic reference source, originally published in 1940, features updated and revised entries from previous editions, as well as more than 800 new entries covering recent events and topics not covered previously. This authoritative work serves students, scholars, and general readers interested in a wide range of topics in American history, from the well studied and familiar to the obscure.&lt;br&gt;&lt;br&gt;&lt;b&gt;&lt;font size=&quot;4&quot;&gt;Library Catalog&lt;/font&gt;&lt;/b&gt;&lt;br&gt;&lt;a class=&quot;external&quot; href=&quot;http://libraryguides.wetpaint.comhttp://sdcclib.smmnet.org:8181/InfoCentre/PickALibrary.do?library=556655&quot; rel=&quot;nofollow&quot; target=&quot;_blank&quot;&gt;http://sdcclib.smmnet.org:8181/InfoCentre/PickALibrary.do?library=556655&lt;/a&gt;&lt;br&gt; Search the library&amp;rsquo;s online catalog using Advanced Search, for &lt;i&gt;Lincoln, Abraham -- 1809-1865 &lt;/i&gt;by SUBJECT, click on Browse icon&lt;font face=&quot;Times New Roman&quot;&gt; &lt;/font&gt;or type in the KEYWORD for &lt;i&gt;Abraham Lincoln&lt;/i&gt;. SUBJECT search results using the Browse feature are subdivided into more specific subjects such as Assassination, Gettysburg Address or Political and social views, etc. KEYWORD search will yield a continuous list of results without subdivisions. In a KEYWORD search it is also possible to search two or more terms, for example, &lt;i&gt;Abraham Lincoln AND slavery&lt;/i&gt;, or &lt;i&gt;Abraham Lincoln AND speeches&lt;/i&gt;. &lt;br&gt;&lt;br&gt;Search the library&amp;#39;s online catalog for Gettysburg Address by SUBJECT. Show Full Display of the catalog record. Examine the subject headings from results. Look for other subject headings that might contain information on your topic like: &lt;i&gt;Lincoln, Abraham -- Oratory &lt;/i&gt;or &lt;i&gt;Lincoln, Abraham -- Influence&lt;/i&gt;.&lt;br&gt;&lt;br&gt;&lt;b&gt;&lt;font size=&quot;4&quot;&gt;e-books (ebrary)&lt;/font&gt;&lt;/b&gt;&lt;br&gt;You can also search the full-text of ebrary for instances of the &lt;i&gt;Gettysburg Address&lt;/i&gt;. Put the search in &amp;quot;quotes&amp;quot; or your results will retrieve &lt;i&gt;Gettysburg AND Address&lt;/i&gt; and not the phrase. Try limiting by &lt;i&gt;Lincoln, Abraham &lt;/i&gt;by SUBJECT to filter out all the speech and educational books.&lt;br&gt;&lt;br&gt;&lt;br&gt;&lt;font size=&quot;4&quot;&gt;&lt;b&gt;Other Library Collections/Catalogs&lt;/b&gt;&lt;/font&gt;&lt;br&gt;&lt;i&gt;San Diego Public Library&lt;/i&gt;&lt;br&gt;&lt;i&gt;&lt;a href=&quot;http://libraryguides.wetpaint.comhttps://sddp.sirsi.net/uhtbin/cgisirsi/x/x/0/49/&quot; target=&quot;_self&quot;&gt;&lt;font color=&quot;#497fb1&quot;&gt;https://sddp.sirsi.net/uhtbin/cgisirsi/x/x/0/49/&lt;/font&gt;&lt;/a&gt; &lt;/i&gt;&lt;br&gt;Strong history collection at the downtown Central library branch.&lt;br&gt;&lt;br&gt;&lt;i&gt;Circuit Catalog&lt;/i&gt;&lt;br&gt;&lt;a class=&quot;external&quot; href=&quot;http://libraryguides.wetpaint.comhttp://circuit.sdsu.edu/&quot; rel=&quot;nofollow&quot; target=&quot;_blank&quot;&gt;&lt;font color=&quot;#497fb1&quot;&gt;http://circuit.sdsu.edu/&lt;/font&gt;&lt;/a&gt;&lt;br&gt;SDSU, UCSD, CalState SM, USD &amp;amp; San Diego County Library&lt;br&gt;With your SDCL card you can have university print books sent your locate county library branch.&lt;br&gt;&lt;br&gt;&lt;i&gt;WorldCat&lt;/i&gt;&lt;br&gt;&lt;a class=&quot;external&quot; href=&quot;http://libraryguides.wetpaint.comhttp://ezproxy.smmnet.org:2048/login?url=http://firstsearch.oclc.org/fsip?dbname=worldcat&quot; rel=&quot;nofollow&quot; target=&quot;_blank&quot;&gt;&lt;font color=&quot;#497fb1&quot;&gt;http://ezproxy.smmnet.org:2048/login?url=http://firstsearch.oclc.org/fsip?dbname=worldcat&lt;/font&gt;&lt;/a&gt;&lt;br&gt;Collections beyond the county. You can ILL what we don&amp;#39;t have.&lt;br&gt;&lt;br&gt;&lt;br&gt;&lt;b&gt;&lt;font size=&quot;4&quot;&gt;Research Databases&lt;/font&gt;&lt;/b&gt; ** Don&amp;#39;t forget to try the multidisciplinary databases: Academic Search Premier &amp;amp; Research Library.&lt;br&gt;Subject-Specific Databases ~ &lt;a class=&quot;external&quot; href=&quot;http://libraryguides.wetpaint.comhttp://www75.sdcc.edu/Library.aspx?id=734&quot; rel=&quot;nofollow&quot; target=&quot;_blank&quot;&gt;History &amp;amp; Social Sciences&lt;/a&gt;&lt;br&gt;&lt;br&gt;&lt;a class=&quot;external&quot; href=&quot;http://libraryguides.wetpaint.comhttp://ezproxy.smmnet.org:2048/login?url=http://search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?authtype=ip&amp;amp;profile=ehost&amp;amp;defaultdb=ahl&quot; rel=&quot;nofollow&quot; target=&quot;_blank&quot;&gt;&lt;font color=&quot;#810081&quot;&gt;&lt;b&gt;America: History and Life&lt;/b&gt;&lt;/font&gt;&lt;/a&gt; &lt;br&gt;&lt;a class=&quot;external&quot; href=&quot;http://libraryguides.wetpaint.comhttp://ezproxy.smmnet.org:2048/login?url=http://search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?authtype=ip&amp;amp;profile=ehost&amp;amp;defaultdb=ahl&quot; rel=&quot;nofollow&quot; target=&quot;_blank&quot;&gt;http://ezproxy.smmnet.org:2048/login?url=http://search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?authtype=ip&amp;amp;profile=ehost&amp;amp;defaultdb=ahl&lt;/a&gt;&lt;br&gt;~ The definitive index of literature covering the history and culture of the United States and Canada, from prehistory to the present. With indexing for 1,700 journals from 1964 to present.&lt;br&gt; &lt;br&gt;&lt;br&gt;&lt;i&gt;Use&lt;/i&gt; &lt;b&gt;Advanced Search&lt;/b&gt;. It has more search boxes and you can select the fields in which your search terms will be searched. &lt;br&gt;&lt;br&gt;You can Narrow your search results using the &lt;b&gt;Source Types &lt;/b&gt;(Academic, Magazine...) or &lt;b&gt;Subjects&lt;/b&gt; (Speeches, Rhetoric, Political Speeches...) listed in the panel on the left.&lt;br&gt;&lt;br&gt;&lt;br&gt;&lt;b&gt;&lt;font size=&quot;4&quot;&gt;Internet Sources&lt;/font&gt;&lt;/b&gt; &lt;br&gt;&lt;br&gt;&lt;i&gt;&lt;font color=&quot;#000000&quot;&gt;Library of Congress&lt;/font&gt; &lt;/i&gt;&lt;br&gt;&lt;font color=&quot;#000000&quot;&gt;The Gettysburg Address (Library of Congress Exhibition)&lt;/font&gt; &lt;br&gt;&lt;a class=&quot;external&quot; href=&quot;http://libraryguides.wetpaint.comhttp://www.loc.gov/exhibits/gadd/&quot; rel=&quot;nofollow&quot; target=&quot;_blank&quot;&gt;&lt;font color=&quot;#0000ff&quot;&gt;http://www.loc.gov/exhibits/gadd/&lt;/font&gt;&lt;/a&gt; &lt;br&gt;&lt;br&gt;&lt;i&gt;&lt;font color=&quot;#000000&quot;&gt;Abraham Lincoln Papers&lt;/font&gt; &lt;/i&gt;&lt;br&gt;&lt;a class=&quot;external&quot; href=&quot;http://libraryguides.wetpaint.comhttp://memory.loc.gov/ammem/alhtml/malhome.html&quot; rel=&quot;nofollow&quot; target=&quot;_blank&quot;&gt;&lt;font color=&quot;#0000ff&quot;&gt;http://memory.loc.gov/ammem/alhtml/malhome.html&lt;/font&gt;&lt;/a&gt; &lt;br&gt;&lt;font color=&quot;#000000&quot;&gt;Browse the Collection -- Correspondence&lt;/font&gt; &lt;br&gt;&lt;br&gt;&lt;i&gt;&lt;font color=&quot;#000000&quot;&gt;Our Documents National Archives&lt;/font&gt; &lt;/i&gt;&lt;br&gt;&lt;a class=&quot;external&quot; href=&quot;http://libraryguides.wetpaint.comhttp://www.ourdocuments.gov/doc.php?flash=true&amp;amp;doc=36&quot; rel=&quot;nofollow&quot; target=&quot;_blank&quot;&gt;&lt;font color=&quot;#0000ff&quot;&gt;http://www.ourdocuments.gov/doc.php?flash=true&amp;amp;doc=36&lt;/font&gt;&lt;/a&gt; &lt;br&gt;&lt;font color=&quot;#000000&quot;&gt;Refer back to the Lincoln Papers -- Correspondence&lt;/font&gt; &lt;br&gt;&lt;br&gt;&lt;i&gt;&lt;font color=&quot;#000000&quot;&gt;Avalon Project&lt;/font&gt; &lt;/i&gt;&lt;br&gt;&lt;a class=&quot;external&quot; href=&quot;http://libraryguides.wetpaint.comhttp://www.yale.edu/lawweb/avalon/avalon.htm&quot; rel=&quot;nofollow&quot; target=&quot;_blank&quot;&gt;&lt;font color=&quot;#0000ff&quot;&gt;http://www.yale.edu/lawweb/avalon/avalon.htm&lt;/font&gt;&lt;/a&gt; &lt;br&gt;Documents in Law, History and Diplomacy &lt;br&gt;&lt;br&gt;&lt;font color=&quot;#000000&quot;&gt;&lt;i&gt;Abraham Lincoln Newspaper Archive&lt;/i&gt;&lt;/font&gt; &lt;br&gt;&lt;a class=&quot;external&quot; href=&quot;http://libraryguides.wetpaint.comhttp://www.abrahamlincolnarchive.com/Home.aspx&quot; rel=&quot;nofollow&quot; target=&quot;_blank&quot;&gt;&lt;font color=&quot;#0000ff&quot;&gt;http://www.abrahamlincolnarchive.com/Home.aspx&lt;/font&gt;&lt;/a&gt; &lt;br&gt;&lt;font color=&quot;#000000&quot;&gt;The world&amp;#39;s largest provider of online fully searchable historic Abraham Lincoln newspaper articles&lt;/font&gt; &lt;br&gt;&lt;br&gt;&lt;font color=&quot;#000000&quot;&gt;&lt;i&gt;Gilder Lehrman Institute of American History&lt;/i&gt;&lt;/font&gt;&lt;br&gt;&lt;a class=&quot;external&quot; href=&quot;http://libraryguides.wetpaint.comhttp://www.gilderlehrman.org/&quot; rel=&quot;nofollow&quot; target=&quot;_blank&quot;&gt;&lt;font color=&quot;#0000ff&quot;&gt;http://www.gilderlehrman.org/&lt;/font&gt;&lt;/a&gt; &lt;br&gt;&lt;font color=&quot;#000000&quot;&gt;Promotes the study and love of American history&lt;/font&gt; &lt;br&gt;&lt;br&gt;&lt;font color=&quot;#000000&quot;&gt;&lt;i&gt;History Now (K-12)&lt;/i&gt;&lt;/font&gt; &lt;br&gt;&lt;a class=&quot;external&quot; href=&quot;http://libraryguides.wetpaint.comhttp://www.historynow.org/&quot; rel=&quot;nofollow&quot; target=&quot;_blank&quot;&gt;&lt;font color=&quot;#0000ff&quot;&gt;http://www.historynow.org/&lt;/font&gt;&lt;/a&gt;&lt;br&gt;&lt;br&gt;&lt;br&gt;&lt;hr size=&quot;1&quot;&gt;&lt;br/&gt;</description></item><item><title>Studies &amp; Statistics</title><link>http://libraryguides.wetpaint.com/page/Studies+%26+Statistics</link><author>jewing</author><guid isPermaLink="false">http://libraryguides.wetpaint.com/page/Studies+%26+Statistics</guid><pubDate>Fri, 09 May 2008 18:42:20 CDT</pubDate><description>&lt;font color=&quot;#000000&quot;&gt;&lt;b&gt;REFERENCE WORKS&lt;/b&gt;&lt;/font&gt;&lt;font color=&quot;#000000&quot;&gt; &lt;/font&gt;&lt;br&gt;&lt;font color=&quot;#000000&quot;&gt;United States. &lt;i&gt;&lt;a class=&quot;external&quot; href=&quot;http://libraryguides.wetpaint.comhttp://www.worldcat.org/oclc/2344701&quot; rel=&quot;nofollow&quot; target=&quot;_blank&quot;&gt;Statistical Abstract of the United States&lt;/a&gt;&lt;/i&gt;. Washington: U.S. Dept. of Commerce, Bureau of the Census, 1878. &lt;b&gt;R 317.3 U58s 2008&lt;/b&gt;&lt;/font&gt; &lt;br&gt;&lt;br&gt;Barrett, David B., George Thomas Kurian, and Todd M. Johnson. &lt;i&gt;&lt;a class=&quot;external&quot; href=&quot;http://libraryguides.wetpaint.comhttp://www.worldcat.org/oclc/42923538&quot; rel=&quot;nofollow&quot; target=&quot;_blank&quot;&gt;World Christian Encyclopedia: A Comparative Survey of Churches and Religions in the Modern World&lt;/a&gt;&lt;/i&gt;. Oxford: Oxford University Press, 2001. &lt;b&gt;R 230.03 W927c v.1-2&lt;/b&gt;&lt;br&gt;&lt;br&gt;Taeuber, Cynthia Murray. &lt;i&gt;&lt;a class=&quot;external&quot; href=&quot;http://libraryguides.wetpaint.comhttp://www.worldcat.org/oclc/34151665&quot; rel=&quot;nofollow&quot; target=&quot;_blank&quot;&gt;Statistical Handbook on Women in America&lt;/a&gt;&lt;/i&gt;. Phoenix, Ariz: Oryx Press, 1996. &lt;b&gt;R 305.4 S797h&lt;/b&gt; &lt;br&gt;&lt;br&gt;&lt;font color=&quot;#000000&quot;&gt;&lt;b&gt;WEB SITES&lt;/b&gt;&lt;/font&gt;&lt;br&gt;&lt;font color=&quot;#000000&quot;&gt;&lt;a class=&quot;external&quot; href=&quot;http://libraryguides.wetpaint.comhttp://www.census.gov/compendia/statab/&quot; rel=&quot;nofollow&quot; target=&quot;_blank&quot;&gt;&lt;b&gt;Statistical Abstract of the United States&lt;/b&gt;&lt;/a&gt; -- published since 1878, is the authoritative and comprehensive summary of statistics on the social, political, and economic organization of the United States. Use the Abstract as a convenient volume for statistical reference, and as a guide to sources of more information both in print and on the Web.&lt;/font&gt;&lt;br&gt;&lt;br&gt;&lt;a class=&quot;external&quot; href=&quot;http://libraryguides.wetpaint.comhttp://www.census.gov/prod/www/abs/statab.html&quot; rel=&quot;nofollow&quot; target=&quot;_blank&quot;&gt;&lt;b&gt;Bicentennial Edition: Historical Statistics of the United States, Colonial Times to 1970&lt;/b&gt;&lt;/a&gt;.  -- The historical edition of the above Statistical Abstract.  Also available in print: &lt;b&gt;R 317.3 U58h 1970 v.1-2&lt;/b&gt; &lt;br&gt;&lt;br&gt;&lt;a class=&quot;external&quot; href=&quot;http://libraryguides.wetpaint.comhttp://www.unescap.org/stat/data/syb2007/index.asp&quot; rel=&quot;nofollow&quot; target=&quot;_blank&quot;&gt;&lt;b&gt;&lt;font color=&quot;#497fb1&quot;&gt;Statistical Yearbook for Asia and the Pacific 2007&lt;/font&gt;&lt;/b&gt;&lt;/a&gt; -- The monitoring of social, economic and environmental development requires the use of data that is comparable across countries and over time. This is realized in the 2007 edition of the Statistical Yearbook for Asia and the Pacific. For the first time in its 50 year history, the Yearbook presents data compiled from global sources maintained by United Nations agencies and other international organizations.&lt;br&gt;&lt;br&gt;&lt;a class=&quot;external&quot; href=&quot;http://libraryguides.wetpaint.comhttp://www.census.gov/sdc/www/&quot; rel=&quot;nofollow&quot; target=&quot;_blank&quot;&gt;&lt;b&gt;State Data Center Program&lt;/b&gt;&lt;/a&gt; -- census data on a state &amp;amp; local level&lt;br&gt;&lt;br&gt;&lt;br&gt;&lt;font color=&quot;#000000&quot;&gt;&lt;b&gt;&lt;a class=&quot;external&quot; href=&quot;http://libraryguides.wetpaint.comhttp://www.pollingreport.com/&quot; rel=&quot;nofollow&quot; target=&quot;_blank&quot;&gt;PollingReport.com&lt;/a&gt; &lt;/b&gt;-- &lt;font face=&quot;Verdana&quot;&gt;An independent, nonpartisan resource on trends in American public opinion.&lt;/font&gt;&lt;/font&gt;&lt;br&gt;&lt;br&gt;&lt;font face=&quot;Verdana&quot;&gt;&lt;b&gt;STUDIES -- WEBSITES&lt;/b&gt;&lt;/font&gt;&lt;br&gt;&lt;b&gt;&lt;a class=&quot;external&quot; href=&quot;http://libraryguides.wetpaint.comhttp://www.barna.org/FlexPage.aspx?Page=Home&quot; rel=&quot;nofollow&quot; target=&quot;_blank&quot;&gt;Barna Group&lt;/a&gt; &lt;/b&gt;-- Barna Group provides primary research (etc.) to be a catalyst in moral and spiritual transformation in the United States. &lt;a class=&quot;external&quot; href=&quot;http://libraryguides.wetpaint.comhttp://www.barna.org/FlexPage.aspx?Page=Topics&quot; rel=&quot;nofollow&quot; target=&quot;_blank&quot;&gt;By Topic&lt;/a&gt;, &lt;a class=&quot;external&quot; href=&quot;http://libraryguides.wetpaint.comhttp://www.barna.org/FlexPage.aspx?Page=BarnaUpdates&quot; rel=&quot;nofollow&quot; target=&quot;_blank&quot;&gt;Recent Barna Updates&lt;/a&gt;.&lt;br&gt;&lt;br&gt;&lt;a class=&quot;external&quot; href=&quot;http://libraryguides.wetpaint.comhttp://pewforum.org/&quot; rel=&quot;nofollow&quot; target=&quot;_blank&quot;&gt;&lt;b&gt;&lt;font color=&quot;#497fb1&quot;&gt;Pew Forum on Religion &amp;amp; Public Life&lt;/font&gt;&lt;/b&gt;&lt;/a&gt; -- Seeks to promote a deeper understanding of issues at the intersection of religion and public affairs.&lt;hr size=&quot;1&quot;&gt;&lt;br/&gt;</description></item><item><title>Country Studies</title><link>http://libraryguides.wetpaint.com/page/Country+Studies</link><author>jewing</author><guid isPermaLink="false">http://libraryguides.wetpaint.com/page/Country+Studies</guid><pubDate>Tue, 06 May 2008 17:37:09 CDT</pubDate><description>&lt;b&gt;REFERENCE WORKS&lt;/b&gt; &lt;br&gt;Barrett, David B., George Thomas Kurian, and Todd M. Johnson. &lt;i&gt;&lt;a class=&quot;external&quot; href=&quot;http://libraryguides.wetpaint.comhttp://www.worldcat.org/oclc/42923538&quot; rel=&quot;nofollow&quot; target=&quot;_blank&quot;&gt;World Christian Encyclopedia: A Comparative Survey of Churches and Religions in the Modern World&lt;/a&gt;&lt;/i&gt;. Oxford: Oxford University Press, 2001. &lt;b&gt;R 230.03 W927c v.1-2&lt;/b&gt; &lt;br&gt;&lt;br&gt;Cohen, Saul Bernard. &lt;i&gt;&lt;a class=&quot;external&quot; href=&quot;http://libraryguides.wetpaint.comhttp://www.worldcat.org/oclc/39234867&quot; rel=&quot;nofollow&quot; target=&quot;_blank&quot;&gt;The Columbia Gazetteer of the World&lt;/a&gt;&lt;/i&gt;. New York: Columbia University Press, 1998. &lt;b&gt;R 910.3 C726g v.1-3&lt;/b&gt; Great geographical information including latitude/longitude, area, and history for countries, cities and geographic features like rivers and mountains.&lt;br&gt;&lt;br&gt;&lt;i&gt;&lt;a class=&quot;external&quot; href=&quot;http://libraryguides.wetpaint.comhttp://www.worldcat.org/oclc/55795909&quot; rel=&quot;nofollow&quot; target=&quot;_blank&quot;&gt;The Europa World Year Book 2004&lt;/a&gt;&lt;/i&gt;. London: Europa, 2004. &lt;b&gt;R 909.829 E89w 2004 v.1-2&lt;/b&gt; Great statistical source for vital statistics like population, birth, death, education, economics and trade, etc.&lt;br&gt;&lt;br&gt;Martin, Frederick, John Scott Keltie, Isaac Parker Anderson Renwick, Mortimer Epstein, S. H. Steinberg, and John Paxton. &lt;i&gt;&lt;a class=&quot;external&quot; href=&quot;http://libraryguides.wetpaint.comhttp://www.worldcat.org/oclc/1238236&quot; rel=&quot;nofollow&quot; target=&quot;_blank&quot;&gt;The Statesman&amp;#39;s Year-Book&lt;/a&gt;&lt;/i&gt;. London [etc.]: Palgrave [etc.], 1864. &lt;b&gt;R 320.058 S797y 2008&lt;/b&gt; Includes information by country.&lt;br&gt;&lt;br&gt;Johnstone, Patrick J. St. G. &lt;i&gt;&lt;a class=&quot;external&quot; href=&quot;http://libraryguides.wetpaint.comhttp://www.worldcat.org/oclc/47937166&quot; rel=&quot;nofollow&quot; target=&quot;_blank&quot;&gt;Operation World&lt;/a&gt;&lt;/i&gt;. Carlisle, Cumbria, UK: Paternoster Lifestyle, 2001. &lt;b&gt;266 J73o 6 [Currently on Reserve] &lt;/b&gt;Designed for as a tool for prayer, this manual provides excellent breakdowns of the religions and missionary efforts of each country.&lt;br&gt;&lt;br&gt;&lt;a class=&quot;external&quot; href=&quot;http://libraryguides.wetpaint.comhttp://www.worldcat.org/oclc/63150896&quot; rel=&quot;nofollow&quot; target=&quot;_blank&quot;&gt;&lt;i&gt;The World almanac and book of facts&lt;/i&gt;.&lt;/a&gt; New York: World Telegram, 1902- . &lt;b&gt;R 031.02 W927a 2008&lt;/b&gt; Although the entry is brief for each country, the almanac is updated yearly so the data maybe more current than other sources. &lt;br&gt;&lt;br&gt;Greenwood Press has a series of books titled &lt;i&gt;Culture and Customs of [country name]&lt;/i&gt;. The library has 12 titles (10 in ebook format). This series can also be found at the &lt;a class=&quot;external&quot; href=&quot;http://libraryguides.wetpaint.comhttp://www.sdcl.org/&quot; rel=&quot;nofollow&quot; target=&quot;_blank&quot;&gt;San Diego County Library&lt;/a&gt; and &lt;a class=&quot;external&quot; href=&quot;http://libraryguides.wetpaint.comhttp://www.sandiegolibrary.org/&quot; rel=&quot;nofollow&quot; target=&quot;_blank&quot;&gt;San Diego Public Library&lt;/a&gt;.&lt;br&gt;&lt;br&gt;&lt;br&gt;&lt;b&gt;ATLASES (PRINT WORKS)&lt;/b&gt; &lt;br&gt;George Philip &amp;amp; Son, and Oxford University Press. &lt;i&gt;&lt;a class=&quot;external&quot; href=&quot;http://libraryguides.wetpaint.comhttp://www.worldcat.org/oclc/45155270&quot; rel=&quot;nofollow&quot; target=&quot;_blank&quot;&gt;Atlas of the World&lt;/a&gt;&lt;/i&gt;. New York: Oxford University Press, 2000. &lt;b&gt;Atlas 912 G348a 8&lt;/b&gt; Statistics, world geography, city maps, world maps and index.&lt;br&gt;&lt;br&gt;Hammond Incorporated. &lt;i&gt;&lt;a class=&quot;external&quot; href=&quot;http://libraryguides.wetpaint.comhttp://www.worldcat.org/oclc/26014000&quot; rel=&quot;nofollow&quot; target=&quot;_blank&quot;&gt;Hammond Atlas of the World&lt;/a&gt;&lt;/i&gt;. Maplewood, N.J.: Hammond Inc, 1993. &lt;b&gt;Atlas F 912 H227a&lt;/b&gt; Introduction to maps, global issues, physical maps, world politcal map, country/regional maps, statistical tables.&lt;br&gt;&lt;br&gt;Reise- und Verkehrsverlag. &lt;i&gt;&lt;a class=&quot;external&quot; href=&quot;http://libraryguides.wetpaint.comhttp://www.worldcat.org/oclc/35276305&quot; rel=&quot;nofollow&quot; target=&quot;_blank&quot;&gt;Macmillan Centennial Atlas of the World&lt;/a&gt;&lt;/i&gt;. New York: Macmillan, 1996. &lt;b&gt;Atlas 912 P712e C&lt;/b&gt; Satellite views, world, continent, regional maps, political maps, cities.&lt;br&gt;&lt;br&gt;&lt;b&gt;DATABASES (ONLINE)&lt;/b&gt;&lt;br&gt;&lt;a class=&quot;external&quot; href=&quot;http://libraryguides.wetpaint.comhttp://www.statesmansyearbook.com/&quot; rel=&quot;nofollow&quot; target=&quot;_blank&quot;&gt;&lt;b&gt;Statesman&amp;#39;s Yearbook&lt;/b&gt;&lt;/a&gt; (available only on campus) -- This site contains the full text of the current edition of &lt;i&gt;The Statesman&amp;#39;s Yearbook&lt;/i&gt;, regularly updated by our editorial team to reflect recent world events, with extensive search and browse facilities.&lt;br&gt;&lt;br&gt;&lt;font color=&quot;#000000&quot;&gt;&lt;b&gt;Daily Life Through History &amp;amp; World Cultures Today &lt;/b&gt;(available at San Diego County Libraries or remotely with SDCL Library card) -- Starting with the 6 volumes of &lt;i&gt;Greenwood Encyclopedia of Daily Life &amp;amp; &lt;/i&gt;adding&lt;i&gt; &lt;/i&gt;44 volumes from the critically acclaimed &lt;i&gt;Daily Life through History&lt;/i&gt; series, this database includes articles, maps, charts, and primary documents about countries &amp;amp; cultures from around the world.&lt;/font&gt;&lt;br&gt;&lt;br&gt;&lt;a class=&quot;external&quot; href=&quot;http://libraryguides.wetpaint.comhttp://pm.smmnet.org/redirects/WorldCat.asp&quot; rel=&quot;nofollow&quot; target=&quot;_blank&quot;&gt;&lt;b&gt;World Almanac&lt;/b&gt;&lt;/a&gt; (institutional login required) -- Search for your county in title field &amp;amp; choose The World Almanac &amp;amp; Book of Facts in the results list. Since this is updated yearly, the data maybe more current than other sources. We also have a print copy also. &lt;b&gt;R 031.02 W927a 2008&lt;/b&gt;&lt;br&gt;&lt;br&gt;&lt;b&gt;WEB RESOURCES&lt;/b&gt;&lt;br&gt;&lt;b&gt;&lt;a class=&quot;external&quot; href=&quot;http://libraryguides.wetpaint.comhttp://www.state.gov/r/pa/ei/bgn/&quot; rel=&quot;nofollow&quot; target=&quot;_blank&quot;&gt;Background Notes&lt;/a&gt;&lt;/b&gt; -- Facts about the land, people, history, government, political conditions, economy, and foreign relations of &lt;a class=&quot;external&quot; href=&quot;http://libraryguides.wetpaint.comhttp://www.state.gov/s/inr/states/&quot; rel=&quot;nofollow&quot; target=&quot;_blank&quot;&gt;&lt;font color=&quot;#0000ff&quot;&gt;independent states, some dependencies, and areas of special sovereignty&lt;/font&gt;&lt;/a&gt;. The Background Notes are updated/revised by the Office of Electronic Information and Publications of the Bureau of Public Affairs as they are received from the Department&amp;#39;s &lt;a class=&quot;external&quot; href=&quot;http://libraryguides.wetpaint.comhttp://www.state.gov/countries/&quot; rel=&quot;nofollow&quot; target=&quot;_blank&quot;&gt;&lt;font color=&quot;#0000ff&quot;&gt;regional bureaus&lt;/font&gt;&lt;/a&gt;. US Dept of State.&lt;br&gt;&lt;br&gt;&lt;a class=&quot;external&quot; href=&quot;http://libraryguides.wetpaint.comhttp://news.bbc.co.uk/1/hi/country_profiles/default.stm&quot; rel=&quot;nofollow&quot; target=&quot;_blank&quot;&gt;&lt;b&gt;&lt;font color=&quot;#497fb1&quot;&gt;BBC Country Profiles&lt;/font&gt;&lt;/b&gt;&lt;/a&gt; -- Full profiles provide an instant guide to history, politics and economic background of countries and territories, and background on key institutions.&lt;br&gt;&lt;br&gt;&lt;a href=&quot;http://libraryguides.wetpaint.comhttps://www.cia.gov/library/publications/the-world-factbook/index.html&quot; target=&quot;_self&quot;&gt;&lt;b&gt;CIA World Fact Book&lt;/b&gt;&lt;/a&gt; -- US government profiles of countries and territories around the &lt;b&gt;world&lt;/b&gt;. Information on geography, people, government, transportation, economy, communications...&lt;br&gt;&lt;br&gt;&lt;a class=&quot;external&quot; href=&quot;http://libraryguides.wetpaint.comhttp://lcweb2.loc.gov/frd/cs/&quot; rel=&quot;nofollow&quot; target=&quot;_blank&quot;&gt;&lt;b&gt;Country Studies&lt;/b&gt;&lt;/a&gt; -- The Country Studies Series presents a description and analysis of the historical setting and the social, economic, political, and national security systems and institutions of countries throughout the world. Library of Congress.&lt;br&gt;&lt;br&gt;&lt;a class=&quot;external&quot; href=&quot;http://libraryguides.wetpaint.comhttp://lcweb2.loc.gov/frd/cs/profiles.html&quot; rel=&quot;nofollow&quot; target=&quot;_blank&quot;&gt;&lt;b&gt;Country Profiles&lt;/b&gt;&lt;/a&gt; -- The profiles offer brief, summarized information on a country&amp;rsquo;s historical background, geography, society, economy, transportation and telecommunications, government and politics, and national security. Library of Congress.&lt;br&gt;&lt;br&gt;&lt;b&gt;&lt;a class=&quot;external&quot; href=&quot;http://libraryguides.wetpaint.comhttp://www.ethnologue.com/web.asp&quot; rel=&quot;nofollow&quot; target=&quot;_blank&quot;&gt;Ethnologue&lt;/a&gt;&lt;/b&gt; -- An encyclopedic reference work cataloging all of the world&amp;rsquo;s 6,912 known living languages. We also have a print copy also: &lt;b&gt;R 410 E84 14 v.1-2&lt;/b&gt;&lt;br&gt;&lt;br&gt;&lt;a class=&quot;external&quot; href=&quot;http://libraryguides.wetpaint.comhttp://www.indo.com/distance/&quot; rel=&quot;nofollow&quot; target=&quot;_blank&quot;&gt;&lt;b&gt;How Far is It?&lt;/b&gt;&lt;/a&gt; -- Courtesy of &lt;a class=&quot;external&quot; href=&quot;http://libraryguides.wetpaint.comhttp://www.indo.com/&quot; rel=&quot;nofollow&quot; target=&quot;_blank&quot;&gt;&lt;font color=&quot;#0000ff&quot;&gt;Indo.com&lt;/font&gt;&lt;/a&gt;, this service uses data from the US Census and a supplementary list of cities around the world to find the latitude and longitude of two places, and then calculates the &lt;a class=&quot;external&quot; href=&quot;http://libraryguides.wetpaint.comhttp://www.indo.com/distance/distance-details.html&quot; rel=&quot;nofollow&quot; target=&quot;_blank&quot;&gt;&lt;font color=&quot;#0000ff&quot;&gt;distance&lt;/font&gt;&lt;/a&gt; between them (as the crow flies). It also provides a map showing the two places, using the Xerox PARC Map Server. A comercial site.&lt;br&gt;&lt;br&gt;&lt;a class=&quot;external&quot; href=&quot;http://libraryguides.wetpaint.comhttp://www.operationworld.org/updates/bldlnks.php&quot; rel=&quot;nofollow&quot; target=&quot;_blank&quot;&gt;&lt;b&gt;Operation World Websites&lt;/b&gt;&lt;/a&gt; -- To promote prayer among the people of God and serve as a global reference work for church and mission groups. Use the middle drop-down &amp;quot;country&amp;quot; box to find websites specific information about a country. You can also search by region or category (subject).&lt;br&gt;&lt;br&gt;&lt;a class=&quot;external&quot; href=&quot;http://libraryguides.wetpaint.comhttp://www.loc.gov/rr/international/portals.html&quot; rel=&quot;nofollow&quot; target=&quot;_blank&quot;&gt;&lt;b&gt;Portals to the World&lt;/b&gt;&lt;/a&gt; -- Selective links providing authoritative, in-depth information about the nations and other areas of the world. They are arranged by country or area with the links for each sorted into a wide range of broad categories. The links were selected by Area Specialists and other Library staff using Library of Congress selection criteria.&lt;br&gt;&lt;br&gt;&lt;a class=&quot;external&quot; href=&quot;http://libraryguides.wetpaint.comhttp://www.unescap.org/stat/data/syb2007/index.asp&quot; rel=&quot;nofollow&quot; target=&quot;_blank&quot;&gt;&lt;b&gt;Statistical Yearbook for Asia and the Pacific 2007&lt;/b&gt;&lt;/a&gt; -- The monitoring of social, economic and environmental development requires the use of data that is comparable across countries and over time. This is realized in the 2007 edition of the Statistical Yearbook for Asia and the Pacific. For the first time in its 50 year history, the Yearbook presents data compiled from global sources maintained by United Nations agencies and other international organizations.&lt;br&gt;&lt;br&gt;&lt;b&gt;MAPS (ONLINE)&lt;/b&gt;&lt;br&gt;&lt;a class=&quot;external&quot; href=&quot;http://libraryguides.wetpaint.comhttp://plasma.nationalgeographic.com/mapmachine/&quot; rel=&quot;nofollow&quot; target=&quot;_blank&quot;&gt;National Geographic&lt;/a&gt; -- You can create maps using many geographical features including weather &amp;amp; land use. Because of the interactivity, you can&amp;#39;t copy/paste this map, but you can print it.&lt;br&gt;&lt;br&gt;&lt;a class=&quot;external&quot; href=&quot;http://libraryguides.wetpaint.comhttp://go.hrw.com/atlas/norm_htm/world.htm&quot; rel=&quot;nofollow&quot; target=&quot;_blank&quot;&gt;HRW World Atlas (Holt, Rinehart &amp;amp; Winston)&lt;/a&gt; -- Textbook publishers which have created a great set of world, regional &amp;amp; country maps. Copy/paste available.&lt;br&gt;&lt;br&gt;&lt;a class=&quot;external&quot; href=&quot;http://libraryguides.wetpaint.comhttp://worldatlas.com/aatlas/world.htm&quot; rel=&quot;nofollow&quot; target=&quot;_blank&quot;&gt;World Atlas.com&lt;/a&gt; -- interactive maps, includes links to maps from outsides sources like the CIA World Fact Book.&lt;br&gt;&lt;br&gt;&lt;a class=&quot;external&quot; href=&quot;http://libraryguides.wetpaint.comhttp://www.embassyworld.com/maps/maps.html&quot; rel=&quot;nofollow&quot; target=&quot;_blank&quot;&gt;Embassy World&lt;/a&gt; -- All the World&amp;#39;s Maps -- &lt;font color=&quot;#000080&quot; face=&quot;Arial Black&quot;&gt;&lt;font color=&quot;#000000&quot; face=&quot;Arial&quot;&gt;A c&lt;/font&gt;&lt;font color=&quot;#000000&quot; face=&quot;Arial&quot;&gt;ompilation of each nation&amp;#39;s maps - including cities,&lt;/font&gt; &lt;/font&gt;designed for embassy and diplomatic staff, from various sources.&lt;br&gt;&lt;br&gt;&lt;hr size=&quot;1&quot;&gt;&lt;br/&gt;</description></item><item><title>Career Resources</title><link>http://libraryguides.wetpaint.com/page/Career+Resources</link><author>jewing</author><guid isPermaLink="false">http://libraryguides.wetpaint.com/page/Career+Resources</guid><pubDate>Wed, 19 Mar 2008 14:59:06 CDT</pubDate><description>&lt;b&gt; Library Catalog&lt;/b&gt;&lt;br&gt;There are hundreds of books in the library catalog on careers (especially ebooks). To search for books on a particular field or career, go to the Advanced Search screen, enter the term &lt;b&gt;&lt;i&gt;Vocational Guidance&lt;/i&gt;&lt;/b&gt;&lt;i&gt; &lt;/i&gt;select Subject from the drop-down menu and the second search box, enter the field or career you are interested in and click on &lt;b&gt;Search&lt;/b&gt;. &lt;br&gt;&lt;br&gt;&lt;b&gt;Web Resources&lt;/b&gt; The library has provided links to websites that cover &lt;b&gt;Careers and &lt;/b&gt;&lt;b&gt;Occupations&lt;/b&gt; information under &lt;b&gt;Internet Resources&lt;/b&gt;. &lt;a class=&quot;external&quot; href=&quot;http://libraryguides.wetpaint.comhttp://sdcc.edu/library/content2.asp?id=445&quot; rel=&quot;nofollow&quot; target=&quot;_blank&quot;&gt;&lt;font color=&quot;#2797a4&quot; face=&quot;Arial Rounded MT Bold&quot;&gt;http://sdcc.edu/library/content2.asp?id=445&lt;/font&gt;&lt;/a&gt; &lt;br&gt;&lt;table align=&quot;bottom&quot; cellpadding=&quot;0&quot; class=&quot;MsoNormalTable&quot; width=&quot;100%&quot;&gt;  &lt;tbody&gt;  &lt;tr&gt;  &lt;td width=&quot;50%&quot;&gt;  &lt;br&gt;&lt;b&gt;Career Development&lt;/b&gt;&lt;br&gt;&lt;a class=&quot;external&quot; href=&quot;http://libraryguides.wetpaint.comhttp://www.careeroverview.com/&quot; rel=&quot;nofollow&quot; target=&quot;_blank&quot;&gt;&lt;font color=&quot;#2797a4&quot; face=&quot;Arial Rounded MT Bold&quot;&gt;Career Overview&lt;/font&gt;&lt;/a&gt;&lt;br&gt;&lt;a class=&quot;external&quot; href=&quot;http://libraryguides.wetpaint.comhttp://www.mylifecoach.com/&quot; rel=&quot;nofollow&quot; target=&quot;_blank&quot;&gt;&lt;font color=&quot;#2797a4&quot; face=&quot;Arial Rounded MT Bold&quot;&gt;My Life Coach&lt;/font&gt;&lt;/a&gt;&lt;br&gt;&lt;a class=&quot;external&quot; href=&quot;http://libraryguides.wetpaint.comhttp://www.khake.com/&quot; rel=&quot;nofollow&quot; target=&quot;_blank&quot;&gt;&lt;font color=&quot;#2797a4&quot; face=&quot;Arial Rounded MT Bold&quot;&gt;Vocational Information Center&lt;/font&gt;&lt;/a&gt; &lt;br&gt;&lt;b&gt;Career Statistics&lt;/b&gt;&lt;br&gt;&lt;a class=&quot;external&quot; href=&quot;http://libraryguides.wetpaint.comhttp://www.bls.gov/&quot; rel=&quot;nofollow&quot; target=&quot;_blank&quot;&gt;&lt;font color=&quot;#2797a4&quot; face=&quot;Arial Rounded MT Bold&quot;&gt;Bureau of Labor Statistics&lt;/font&gt;&lt;/a&gt;&lt;br&gt;&lt;a class=&quot;external&quot; href=&quot;http://libraryguides.wetpaint.comhttp://stats.bls.gov/oes&quot; rel=&quot;nofollow&quot; target=&quot;_blank&quot;&gt;&lt;font color=&quot;#2797a4&quot; face=&quot;Arial Rounded MT Bold&quot;&gt;Occupational Employment Statistics&lt;/font&gt;&lt;/a&gt;&lt;br&gt;&lt;a class=&quot;external&quot; href=&quot;http://libraryguides.wetpaint.comhttp://stats.bls.gov/oco/home.htm&quot; rel=&quot;nofollow&quot; target=&quot;_blank&quot;&gt;&lt;font color=&quot;#2797a4&quot; face=&quot;Arial Rounded MT Bold&quot;&gt;Occupational Outlook Handbook&lt;/font&gt;&lt;/a&gt; &lt;br&gt;&lt;b&gt;Salary Guides&lt;/b&gt;&lt;br&gt;&lt;a class=&quot;external&quot; href=&quot;http://libraryguides.wetpaint.comhttp://www.salary.com/&quot; rel=&quot;nofollow&quot; target=&quot;_blank&quot;&gt;&lt;font color=&quot;#2797a4&quot; face=&quot;Arial Rounded MT Bold&quot;&gt;Salary.com&lt;/font&gt;&lt;/a&gt; &lt;br&gt;&lt;a class=&quot;external&quot; href=&quot;http://libraryguides.wetpaint.comhttp://www.salaryexpert.com/&quot; rel=&quot;nofollow&quot; target=&quot;_blank&quot;&gt;&lt;font color=&quot;#2797a4&quot; face=&quot;Arial Rounded MT Bold&quot;&gt;SalaryExpert.com&lt;/font&gt;&lt;/a&gt; &lt;/td&gt;  &lt;td width=&quot;50%&quot;&gt;  &lt;br&gt;&lt;br&gt;&lt;br&gt;&lt;br&gt;&lt;b&gt;Career Finder&lt;/b&gt;&lt;br&gt;&lt;a class=&quot;external&quot; href=&quot;http://libraryguides.wetpaint.comhttp://www.careerbuilder.com/&quot; rel=&quot;nofollow&quot; target=&quot;_blank&quot;&gt;&lt;font color=&quot;#2797a4&quot; face=&quot;Arial Rounded MT Bold&quot;&gt;Career Builder&lt;/font&gt;&lt;/a&gt; &lt;br&gt;  &lt;a class=&quot;external&quot; href=&quot;http://libraryguides.wetpaint.comhttp://www.onestopcoach.org/&quot; rel=&quot;nofollow&quot; target=&quot;_blank&quot;&gt;&lt;font color=&quot;#2797a4&quot; face=&quot;Arial Rounded MT Bold&quot;&gt;Career OneStop&lt;/font&gt;&lt;/a&gt; &lt;br&gt;&lt;a class=&quot;external&quot; href=&quot;http://libraryguides.wetpaint.comhttp://www.careervoyages.gov/&quot; rel=&quot;nofollow&quot; target=&quot;_blank&quot;&gt;&lt;font color=&quot;#2797a4&quot; face=&quot;Arial Rounded MT Bold&quot;&gt;Career Voyages&lt;/font&gt;&lt;/a&gt;&lt;br&gt;&lt;a class=&quot;external&quot; href=&quot;http://libraryguides.wetpaint.comhttp://hotjobs.yahoo.com/&quot; rel=&quot;nofollow&quot; target=&quot;_blank&quot;&gt;&lt;font color=&quot;#2797a4&quot; face=&quot;Arial Rounded MT Bold&quot;&gt;HotJobs.com&lt;/font&gt;&lt;/a&gt;&lt;br&gt;&lt;a class=&quot;external&quot; href=&quot;http://libraryguides.wetpaint.comhttp://www.indeed.com/&quot; rel=&quot;nofollow&quot; target=&quot;_blank&quot;&gt;&lt;font color=&quot;#2797a4&quot; face=&quot;Arial Rounded MT Bold&quot;&gt;Indeed.com&lt;/font&gt;&lt;/a&gt; &lt;a class=&quot;external&quot; href=&quot;http://libraryguides.wetpaint.comhttp://www.job-hunt.org/&quot; rel=&quot;nofollow&quot; target=&quot;_blank&quot;&gt;&lt;font color=&quot;#2797a4&quot; face=&quot;Arial Rounded MT Bold&quot;&gt;Job-Hunt&lt;/font&gt;&lt;/a&gt;&lt;br&gt;&lt;a class=&quot;external&quot; href=&quot;http://libraryguides.wetpaint.comhttp://www.monster.com/&quot; rel=&quot;nofollow&quot; target=&quot;_blank&quot;&gt;&lt;font color=&quot;#2797a4&quot; face=&quot;Arial Rounded MT Bold&quot;&gt;Monster.com&lt;/font&gt;&lt;/a&gt;&lt;br&gt;&lt;a class=&quot;external&quot; href=&quot;http://libraryguides.wetpaint.comhttp://www.rileyguide.com/&quot; rel=&quot;nofollow&quot; target=&quot;_blank&quot;&gt;&lt;font color=&quot;#2797a4&quot; face=&quot;Arial Rounded MT Bold&quot;&gt;The Riley Guide&lt;/font&gt;&lt;/a&gt;&lt;br&gt;&lt;a class=&quot;external&quot; href=&quot;http://libraryguides.wetpaint.comhttp://www.simplyhired.com/&quot; rel=&quot;nofollow&quot; target=&quot;_blank&quot;&gt;&lt;font color=&quot;#2797a4&quot; face=&quot;Arial Rounded MT Bold&quot;&gt;Simply Hired&lt;/font&gt;&lt;/a&gt;&lt;br&gt;&lt;a class=&quot;external&quot; href=&quot;http://libraryguides.wetpaint.comhttp://www.usajobs.gov/&quot; rel=&quot;nofollow&quot; target=&quot;_blank&quot;&gt;&lt;font color=&quot;#2797a4&quot; face=&quot;Arial Rounded MT Bold&quot;&gt;USA Jobs&lt;/font&gt;&lt;/a&gt;&lt;/td&gt;&lt;/tr&gt;&lt;/tbody&gt;&lt;/table&gt;  The following Career related titles are available in the library. &lt;br&gt;&lt;br&gt;Sternberg, Robert J., ed. &lt;a class=&quot;external&quot; href=&quot;http://libraryguides.wetpaint.comhttp://www.worldcat.org/oclc/36059930&amp;referer=one_hit&quot; rel=&quot;nofollow&quot; target=&quot;_blank&quot;&gt;&lt;font color=&quot;#2797a4&quot;&gt;&lt;font face=&quot;Arial Rounded MT Bold&quot;&gt;Career paths in psychology: where your degree can take you&lt;/font&gt;&lt;/font&gt;&lt;/a&gt;. Washington, DC: American Psychological Association, 2007.&lt;b&gt;150.2373&lt;/b&gt; &lt;b&gt;C271p&lt;/b&gt;  &lt;br&gt;&lt;br&gt;&lt;b&gt;150.2373&lt;/b&gt; DeGalan, Julie. &lt;a class=&quot;external&quot; href=&quot;http://libraryguides.wetpaint.comhttp://www.worldcat.org/oclc/44958941&amp;referer=one_hit&quot; rel=&quot;nofollow&quot; target=&quot;_blank&quot;&gt;&lt;font color=&quot;#2797a4&quot; face=&quot;Arial Rounded MT Bold&quot;&gt;Great jobs for psychology major&lt;/font&gt;&lt;/a&gt;. Lincolnwood, IL: VGM Career Horizons, 1995. &lt;b&gt;D317g&lt;/b&gt; &lt;b&gt;331.128&lt;/b&gt; Bolles, Richard Nelson. &lt;a class=&quot;external&quot; href=&quot;http://libraryguides.wetpaint.comhttp://www.worldcat.org/search?q=ti%3A2007+what+color+is+your+parachute&amp;qt=owc_search&quot; rel=&quot;nofollow&quot; target=&quot;_blank&quot;&gt;&lt;font color=&quot;#2797a4&quot; face=&quot;Arial Rounded MT Bold&quot;&gt;The 2007 what color is your parachute?: a practical manual for&lt;/font&gt;&lt;/a&gt; &lt;b&gt;B691w&lt;/b&gt; &lt;a class=&quot;external&quot; href=&quot;http://libraryguides.wetpaint.comhttp://www.worldcat.org/search?q=ti%3A2007+what+color+is+your+parachute&amp;qt=owc_search&quot; rel=&quot;nofollow&quot; target=&quot;_blank&quot;&gt;&lt;font color=&quot;#2797a4&quot; face=&quot;Arial Rounded MT Bold&quot;&gt;job-hunters and career-changers&lt;/font&gt;&lt;/a&gt;. Berkeley, Calif.: Ten Speed, 2007.&lt;br&gt;&lt;br&gt;&lt;b&gt;2007&lt;/b&gt;&lt;hr size=&quot;1&quot;&gt;&lt;br/&gt;</description></item><item><title>Library Resource Guides Home</title><link>http://libraryguides.wetpaint.com/page/Library+Resource+Guides+Home</link><author>jewing</author><guid isPermaLink="false">http://libraryguides.wetpaint.com/page/Library+Resource+Guides+Home</guid><pubDate>Mon, 17 Mar 2008 11:08:30 CDT</pubDate><description>Welcome to the SDCC/SCS Library Resource Guides.  We&amp;#39;ve created bibliographies of print,  electronic &amp;amp; internet resources to help you start a research project or complete an assignment.&lt;br&gt;&lt;br&gt;If you have a suggestion for a new topic page or an additional resource to add or you need help in your research, please email or call the library.&lt;hr size=&quot;1&quot;&gt;&lt;br/&gt;</description></item><item><title>Creating Surveys, etc.</title><link>http://libraryguides.wetpaint.com/page/Creating+Surveys%2C+etc.</link><author>jewing</author><guid isPermaLink="false">http://libraryguides.wetpaint.com/page/Creating+Surveys%2C+etc.</guid><pubDate>Fri, 14 Mar 2008 12:12:07 CDT</pubDate><description>Biemer, P. P., &amp;amp; Lyberg, L. (2003). &lt;i&gt;&lt;a class=&quot;external&quot; href=&quot;http://libraryguides.wetpaint.comhttp://www.worldcat.org/oclc/52626901&quot; rel=&quot;nofollow&quot; target=&quot;_blank&quot;&gt;&lt;font color=&quot;#497fb1&quot;&gt;Introduction to survey quality&lt;/font&gt;&lt;/a&gt;&lt;/i&gt;. Wiley series in survey methodology. Hoboken, N.J.: Wiley. &lt;b&gt;NetLibrary ebook &lt;/b&gt;&lt;br&gt;&lt;br&gt;Chambers, R. L., &amp;amp; Skinner, C. J. (2003). &lt;i&gt;&lt;a class=&quot;external&quot; href=&quot;http://libraryguides.wetpaint.comhttp://www.worldcat.org/oclc/50554574&quot; rel=&quot;nofollow&quot; target=&quot;_blank&quot;&gt;&lt;font color=&quot;#497fb1&quot;&gt;Analysis of survey data&lt;/font&gt;&lt;/a&gt;&lt;/i&gt;. Wiley series in survey methodology. Chichester, West Sussex, England: Wiley. &lt;b&gt;NetLibrary ebook &lt;/b&gt;&lt;br&gt;&lt;br&gt;Fowler, F. J. (2001). &lt;i&gt;&lt;a class=&quot;external&quot; href=&quot;http://libraryguides.wetpaint.comhttp://www.worldcat.org/oclc/47939313&quot; rel=&quot;nofollow&quot; target=&quot;_blank&quot;&gt;&lt;font color=&quot;#497fb1&quot;&gt;Survey research methods&lt;/font&gt;&lt;/a&gt;&lt;/i&gt;. London: SAGE. &lt;b&gt;300.72 F785s 3 c.2&lt;/b&gt; &lt;br&gt;&lt;br&gt;Hunter, J. E., &amp;amp; Schmidt, F. L. (2004). &lt;i&gt;&lt;a class=&quot;external&quot; href=&quot;http://libraryguides.wetpaint.comhttp://www.worldcat.org/oclc/20172005&quot; rel=&quot;nofollow&quot; target=&quot;_blank&quot;&gt;&lt;font color=&quot;#497fb1&quot;&gt;Methods of meta-analysis: correcting error and bias in research findings&lt;/font&gt;&lt;/a&gt;&lt;/i&gt;. London: SAGE. &lt;b&gt;300.72 H945m 2&lt;/b&gt; &lt;br&gt;&lt;br&gt;Jorgensen, D. L. (1989). &lt;i&gt;&lt;a class=&quot;external&quot; href=&quot;http://libraryguides.wetpaint.comhttp://www.worldcat.org/oclc/18497105&quot; rel=&quot;nofollow&quot; target=&quot;_blank&quot;&gt;&lt;font color=&quot;#497fb1&quot;&gt;Participant observation: a methodology for human studies&lt;/font&gt;&lt;/a&gt;&lt;/i&gt;. Applied social research methods series, v. 15. Newbury Park, Calif: Sage Publications. &lt;b&gt;300.72 J82p&lt;/b&gt; &lt;br&gt;&lt;br&gt;Kantrowitz, J. L. (2006). &lt;i&gt;&lt;a class=&quot;external&quot; href=&quot;http://libraryguides.wetpaint.comhttp://www.worldcat.org/oclc/62897569&quot; rel=&quot;nofollow&quot; target=&quot;_blank&quot;&gt;&lt;font color=&quot;#497fb1&quot;&gt;Writing about patients: responsibilities, risks, and ramifications&lt;/font&gt;&lt;/a&gt;&lt;/i&gt;. New York: Other Press. &lt;b&gt;616.8914 K16w&lt;/b&gt; &lt;br&gt;&lt;br&gt;Presser, S. (2004). &lt;i&gt;&lt;a class=&quot;external&quot; href=&quot;http://libraryguides.wetpaint.comhttp://www.worldcat.org/oclc/53325055&quot; rel=&quot;nofollow&quot; target=&quot;_blank&quot;&gt;&lt;font color=&quot;#497fb1&quot;&gt;Methods for testing and evaluating survey questionnaires&lt;/font&gt;&lt;/a&gt;&lt;/i&gt;. Wiley series in survey methodology. Hoboken, NJ: John Wiley &amp;amp; Sons. &lt;b&gt;300.723 M592t&lt;/b&gt; &lt;br&gt;&lt;br&gt;Rea, L. M., &amp;amp; Parker, R. A. (2005). &lt;i&gt;&lt;a class=&quot;external&quot; href=&quot;http://libraryguides.wetpaint.comhttp://www.worldcat.org/oclc/60664386&quot; rel=&quot;nofollow&quot; target=&quot;_blank&quot;&gt;&lt;font color=&quot;#497fb1&quot;&gt;Designing and conducting survey research: a comprehensive guide&lt;/font&gt;&lt;/a&gt;&lt;/i&gt;. San Francisco: Jossey-Bass. &lt;b&gt;300.723 R281d 3&lt;/b&gt; &lt;br&gt;&lt;br&gt;Salkind, N. J. (2000). &lt;i&gt;&lt;a class=&quot;external&quot; href=&quot;http://libraryguides.wetpaint.comhttp://www.worldcat.org/oclc/42597791&quot; rel=&quot;nofollow&quot; target=&quot;_blank&quot;&gt;Statistics for people who (think they) hate statistics&lt;/a&gt;&lt;/i&gt;. Thousand Oaks, Calif: Sage Publications. &lt;b&gt;519.5 S167s 2&lt;/b&gt; &lt;br&gt;&lt;br&gt;Salkind, N. J. (2006). &lt;i&gt;&lt;a class=&quot;external&quot; href=&quot;http://libraryguides.wetpaint.comhttp://www.worldcat.org/oclc/58604567&quot; rel=&quot;nofollow&quot; target=&quot;_blank&quot;&gt;Tests &amp;amp; measurement for people who (think they) hate tests &amp;amp; measurement&lt;/a&gt;&lt;/i&gt;. Thousand Oaks, Calif: SAGE Publications. &lt;b&gt;371.26 S167t&lt;/b&gt; &lt;br&gt;&lt;br&gt;Willis, G. B. (2005). &lt;i&gt;&lt;a class=&quot;external&quot; href=&quot;http://libraryguides.wetpaint.comhttp://www.worldcat.org/oclc/55644584&quot; rel=&quot;nofollow&quot; target=&quot;_blank&quot;&gt;&lt;font color=&quot;#497fb1&quot;&gt;Cognitive interviewing: a tool for improving questionnaire design&lt;/font&gt;&lt;/a&gt;&lt;/i&gt;. Thousand Oaks, Calif: Sage Publications. &lt;b&gt;001.433 W734c&lt;/b&gt; &lt;br&gt;&lt;br&gt;Yin, R. K. (2003). &lt;i&gt;&lt;a class=&quot;external&quot; href=&quot;http://libraryguides.wetpaint.comhttp://www.worldcat.org/oclc/51031312&quot; rel=&quot;nofollow&quot; target=&quot;_blank&quot;&gt;Applications of case study research&lt;/a&gt;&lt;/i&gt;. Applied social research methods series. London: SAGE. &lt;b&gt;300.722 Y51a 2&lt;/b&gt; &lt;br&gt;&lt;br&gt;Yin, R. K. (2003). &lt;i&gt;&lt;a class=&quot;external&quot; href=&quot;http://libraryguides.wetpaint.comhttp://www.worldcat.org/oclc/50866947&quot; rel=&quot;nofollow&quot; target=&quot;_blank&quot;&gt;Case study research: design and methods&lt;/a&gt;&lt;/i&gt;. Applied social research methods series, v. 5. Thousand Oaks, Calif: Sage Publications. &lt;b&gt;300.722 Y57c 3&lt;/b&gt; &lt;br&gt;&lt;hr size=&quot;1&quot;&gt;&lt;br/&gt;</description></item><item><title>Library Lingo</title><link>http://libraryguides.wetpaint.com/page/Library+Lingo</link><author>jewing</author><guid isPermaLink="false">http://libraryguides.wetpaint.com/page/Library+Lingo</guid><pubDate>Thu, 13 Mar 2008 13:38:28 CDT</pubDate><description>&lt;br&gt;&lt;b&gt;A-C&lt;/b&gt;   &lt;table align=&quot;bottom&quot; cellpadding=&quot;3&quot; class=&quot;wp-border-rows&quot; width=&quot;100%&quot;&gt;  &lt;tbody&gt;  &lt;tr&gt;  &lt;td width=&quot;50%&quot;&gt;  &lt;i&gt;Term&lt;/i&gt;&lt;/td&gt;  &lt;td width=&quot;50%&quot;&gt;  &lt;i&gt;Definition&lt;/i&gt;&lt;/td&gt;&lt;/tr&gt;  &lt;tr&gt;  &lt;td width=&quot;50%&quot;&gt;  Abstract &lt;/td&gt;  &lt;td width=&quot;50%&quot;&gt;  A brief summary of a work which tells enough to allow a reader to decide whether or not it is relevant to their research.&lt;/td&gt;&lt;/tr&gt;  &lt;tr&gt;  &lt;td width=&quot;50%&quot;&gt;  Atlas&lt;/td&gt;  &lt;td width=&quot;50%&quot;&gt;  An atlas is a collection of maps in book form.&lt;/td&gt;&lt;/tr&gt;  &lt;tr&gt;  &lt;td width=&quot;50%&quot;&gt;  Authentication&lt;/td&gt;  &lt;td width=&quot;50%&quot;&gt;  The process of identifying an individual usually based on a username and password.&lt;/td&gt;&lt;/tr&gt;  &lt;tr&gt;  &lt;td width=&quot;50%&quot;&gt;  Bibliographic Citation Manager&lt;/td&gt;  &lt;td width=&quot;50%&quot;&gt;  RefWorks is an online research management and writing tool designed to help researchers easily gather, manage, store and share all types of information, as well as generate citations and bibliographies.&lt;/td&gt;&lt;/tr&gt;  &lt;tr&gt;  &lt;td width=&quot;50%&quot;&gt;  Bibliography&lt;/td&gt;  &lt;td width=&quot;50%&quot;&gt;    A list of citations or suggested resources which appear at the end of a paper, article, chapter or book. There are also books entirely made up of bibliographies. These are usually a compilation of citations on a particular subject or by a particular author.&lt;/td&gt;&lt;/tr&gt;  &lt;tr&gt;  &lt;td width=&quot;50%&quot;&gt;    Boolean (searching)&lt;/td&gt;  &lt;td width=&quot;50%&quot;&gt;    Boolean logic refers to the logical relationship among search terms.  The Boolean search operators are AND, OR, and NOT.&lt;/td&gt;&lt;/tr&gt;  &lt;tr&gt;  &lt;td width=&quot;50%&quot;&gt;    Browser&lt;/td&gt;  &lt;td width=&quot;50%&quot;&gt;    Internet browser, a new window for Internet Explorer or Firefox.&lt;/td&gt;&lt;/tr&gt;  &lt;tr&gt;  &lt;td width=&quot;50%&quot;&gt;    Call Number&lt;/td&gt;  &lt;td width=&quot;50%&quot;&gt;    A combination of numbers and letters that is given to each item held in the library. The letters and numbers assigned to the work describe its subject matter and serves as its address on the shelf. The library uses the Dewey Decimal system to assign call numbers which are located on the book&amp;rsquo;s spine.&lt;/td&gt;&lt;/tr&gt;  &lt;tr&gt;  &lt;td width=&quot;50%&quot;&gt;    Call Number vs. Subject Heading&lt;/td&gt;  &lt;td width=&quot;50%&quot;&gt;    A book, etc., only has one call number because it is used for shelf location, while an item may have multiple subject headings to describe its contents.&lt;/td&gt;&lt;/tr&gt;  &lt;tr&gt;  &lt;td width=&quot;50%&quot;&gt;    Catalog Record&lt;/td&gt;  &lt;td width=&quot;50%&quot;&gt;    Found in the library catalog, this includes all information on any given library item, including a description of the item, author, title, subject headings, notes, and the call number.&lt;/td&gt;&lt;/tr&gt;  &lt;tr&gt;  &lt;td width=&quot;50%&quot;&gt;    Circulating vs. Non-circulating&lt;/td&gt;  &lt;td width=&quot;50%&quot;&gt;    Materials that can be borrowed by a student and taken out of the library are circulating items. Library materials, such as reference books and periodicals, which can be used by students but not taken out of the library, are non-circulating items. &lt;/td&gt;&lt;/tr&gt;  &lt;tr&gt;  &lt;td width=&quot;50%&quot;&gt;    Citation &lt;/td&gt;  &lt;td width=&quot;50%&quot;&gt;    A reference to a work, such as a book or a journal article. When you look at a bibliography or search an index, you retrieve citations. They provide the author, title, publication place, and year of a work and other pieces of information, such as journal title, volume and page numbers. &lt;/td&gt;&lt;/tr&gt;  &lt;tr&gt;  &lt;td width=&quot;50%&quot;&gt;    Command Line (Searching)&lt;/td&gt;  &lt;td width=&quot;50%&quot;&gt;    Command line searching is the ability to limit the fields that are searched by using abbreviated codes for those fields, e.g. au for author, ti for title, py for publication year, de for descriptor (subject), etc.&lt;/td&gt;&lt;/tr&gt;  &lt;tr&gt;  &lt;td width=&quot;50%&quot;&gt;&lt;br&gt;&lt;/td&gt;  &lt;td width=&quot;50%&quot;&gt;&lt;br&gt;&lt;/td&gt;&lt;/tr&gt;&lt;/tbody&gt;&lt;/table&gt;&lt;br&gt;&lt;br&gt;&lt;br&gt;&lt;br&gt;&lt;b&gt;D-G&lt;br&gt;&lt;/b&gt;  &lt;table align=&quot;bottom&quot; cellpadding=&quot;3&quot; class=&quot;wp-border-rows&quot; width=&quot;100%&quot;&gt;  &lt;tbody&gt;  &lt;tr&gt;  &lt;td width=&quot;50%&quot;&gt;  &lt;i&gt;Term&lt;/i&gt;&lt;/td&gt;  &lt;td width=&quot;50%&quot;&gt;  &lt;i&gt;Definition&lt;/i&gt;&lt;/td&gt;&lt;/tr&gt;  &lt;tr&gt;  &lt;td width=&quot;50%&quot;&gt;&lt;br&gt;&lt;/td&gt;  &lt;td width=&quot;50%&quot;&gt;&lt;br&gt;&lt;/td&gt;&lt;/tr&gt;  &lt;tr&gt;  &lt;td width=&quot;50%&quot;&gt;&lt;br&gt;&lt;/td&gt;  &lt;td width=&quot;50%&quot;&gt;  &lt;br&gt;&lt;/td&gt;&lt;/tr&gt;  &lt;tr&gt;  &lt;td width=&quot;50%&quot;&gt;  &lt;br&gt;&lt;/td&gt;  &lt;td width=&quot;50%&quot;&gt;&lt;br&gt;&lt;/td&gt;&lt;/tr&gt;  &lt;tr&gt;  &lt;td width=&quot;50%&quot;&gt;&lt;br&gt;&lt;/td&gt;  &lt;td width=&quot;50%&quot;&gt;&lt;br&gt;&lt;/td&gt;&lt;/tr&gt;  &lt;tr&gt;  &lt;td width=&quot;50%&quot;&gt;&lt;br&gt;&lt;/td&gt;  &lt;td width=&quot;50%&quot;&gt;&lt;br&gt;&lt;/td&gt;&lt;/tr&gt;  &lt;tr&gt;  &lt;td width=&quot;50%&quot;&gt;&lt;br&gt;&lt;/td&gt;  &lt;td width=&quot;50%&quot;&gt;&lt;br&gt;&lt;/td&gt;&lt;/tr&gt;  &lt;tr&gt;  &lt;td width=&quot;50%&quot;&gt;&lt;br&gt;&lt;/td&gt;  &lt;td width=&quot;50%&quot;&gt;&lt;br&gt;&lt;/td&gt;&lt;/tr&gt;  &lt;tr&gt;  &lt;td width=&quot;50%&quot;&gt;&lt;br&gt;&lt;/td&gt;  &lt;td width=&quot;50%&quot;&gt;&lt;br&gt;&lt;/td&gt;&lt;/tr&gt;  &lt;tr&gt;  &lt;td width=&quot;50%&quot;&gt;&lt;br&gt;&lt;/td&gt;  &lt;td width=&quot;50%&quot;&gt;&lt;br&gt;&lt;/td&gt;&lt;/tr&gt;  &lt;tr&gt;  &lt;td width=&quot;50%&quot;&gt;&lt;br&gt;&lt;/td&gt;  &lt;td width=&quot;50%&quot;&gt;&lt;br&gt;&lt;/td&gt;&lt;/tr&gt;  &lt;tr&gt;  &lt;td width=&quot;50%&quot;&gt;&lt;br&gt;&lt;/td&gt;  &lt;td width=&quot;50%&quot;&gt;&lt;br&gt;&lt;/td&gt;&lt;/tr&gt;  &lt;tr&gt;  &lt;td width=&quot;50%&quot;&gt;&lt;br&gt;&lt;/td&gt;  &lt;td width=&quot;50%&quot;&gt;&lt;br&gt;&lt;/td&gt;&lt;/tr&gt;  &lt;tr&gt;  &lt;td width=&quot;50%&quot;&gt;&lt;br&gt;&lt;/td&gt;  &lt;td width=&quot;50%&quot;&gt;&lt;br&gt;&lt;/td&gt;&lt;/tr&gt;  &lt;tr&gt;  &lt;td width=&quot;50%&quot;&gt;&lt;br&gt;&lt;/td&gt;  &lt;td width=&quot;50%&quot;&gt;&lt;br&gt;&lt;/td&gt;&lt;/tr&gt;&lt;/tbody&gt;&lt;/table&gt;&lt;br&gt;&lt;br&gt;&lt;br&gt;&lt;b&gt;H-L&lt;br&gt;&lt;/b&gt;  &lt;table align=&quot;bottom&quot; cellpadding=&quot;3&quot; class=&quot;wp-border-rows&quot; width=&quot;100%&quot;&gt;  &lt;tbody&gt;  &lt;tr&gt;  &lt;td width=&quot;50%&quot;&gt;  &lt;i&gt;Term&lt;/i&gt;&lt;/td&gt;  &lt;td width=&quot;50%&quot;&gt;  &lt;i&gt;Definition&lt;/i&gt;&lt;/td&gt;&lt;/tr&gt;  &lt;tr&gt;  &lt;td width=&quot;50%&quot;&gt;&lt;br&gt;&lt;/td&gt;  &lt;td width=&quot;50%&quot;&gt;&lt;br&gt;&lt;/td&gt;&lt;/tr&gt;  &lt;tr&gt;  &lt;td width=&quot;50%&quot;&gt;&lt;br&gt;&lt;/td&gt;  &lt;td width=&quot;50%&quot;&gt;  &lt;br&gt;&lt;/td&gt;&lt;/tr&gt;  &lt;tr&gt;  &lt;td width=&quot;50%&quot;&gt;  &lt;br&gt;&lt;/td&gt;  &lt;td width=&quot;50%&quot;&gt;&lt;br&gt;&lt;/td&gt;&lt;/tr&gt;  &lt;tr&gt;  &lt;td width=&quot;50%&quot;&gt;&lt;br&gt;&lt;/td&gt;  &lt;td width=&quot;50%&quot;&gt;&lt;br&gt;&lt;/td&gt;&lt;/tr&gt;  &lt;tr&gt;  &lt;td width=&quot;50%&quot;&gt;&lt;br&gt;&lt;/td&gt;  &lt;td width=&quot;50%&quot;&gt;&lt;br&gt;&lt;/td&gt;&lt;/tr&gt;  &lt;tr&gt;  &lt;td width=&quot;50%&quot;&gt;&lt;br&gt;&lt;/td&gt;  &lt;td width=&quot;50%&quot;&gt;&lt;br&gt;&lt;/td&gt;&lt;/tr&gt;  &lt;tr&gt;  &lt;td width=&quot;50%&quot;&gt;&lt;br&gt;&lt;/td&gt;  &lt;td width=&quot;50%&quot;&gt;&lt;br&gt;&lt;/td&gt;&lt;/tr&gt;  &lt;tr&gt;  &lt;td width=&quot;50%&quot;&gt;&lt;br&gt;&lt;/td&gt;  &lt;td width=&quot;50%&quot;&gt;&lt;br&gt;&lt;/td&gt;&lt;/tr&gt;  &lt;tr&gt;  &lt;td width=&quot;50%&quot;&gt;&lt;br&gt;&lt;/td&gt;  &lt;td width=&quot;50%&quot;&gt;&lt;br&gt;&lt;/td&gt;&lt;/tr&gt;  &lt;tr&gt;  &lt;td width=&quot;50%&quot;&gt;&lt;br&gt;&lt;/td&gt;  &lt;td width=&quot;50%&quot;&gt;&lt;br&gt;&lt;/td&gt;&lt;/tr&gt;  &lt;tr&gt;  &lt;td width=&quot;50%&quot;&gt;&lt;br&gt;&lt;/td&gt;  &lt;td width=&quot;50%&quot;&gt;&lt;br&gt;&lt;/td&gt;&lt;/tr&gt;  &lt;tr&gt;  &lt;td width=&quot;50%&quot;&gt;&lt;br&gt;&lt;/td&gt;  &lt;td width=&quot;50%&quot;&gt;&lt;br&gt;&lt;/td&gt;&lt;/tr&gt;  &lt;tr&gt;  &lt;td width=&quot;50%&quot;&gt;&lt;br&gt;&lt;/td&gt;  &lt;td width=&quot;50%&quot;&gt;&lt;br&gt;&lt;/td&gt;&lt;/tr&gt;  &lt;tr&gt;  &lt;td width=&quot;50%&quot;&gt;&lt;br&gt;&lt;/td&gt;  &lt;td width=&quot;50%&quot;&gt;&lt;br&gt;&lt;/td&gt;&lt;/tr&gt;&lt;/tbody&gt;&lt;/table&gt;&lt;br&gt;&lt;br&gt;&lt;br&gt;&lt;br&gt;&lt;b&gt;M-Q&lt;br&gt;&lt;/b&gt;  &lt;table align=&quot;bottom&quot; cellpadding=&quot;3&quot; class=&quot;wp-border-rows&quot; width=&quot;100%&quot;&gt;  &lt;tbody&gt;  &lt;tr&gt;  &lt;td width=&quot;50%&quot;&gt;  &lt;i&gt;Term&lt;/i&gt;&lt;/td&gt;  &lt;td width=&quot;50%&quot;&gt;  &lt;i&gt;Definition&lt;/i&gt;&lt;/td&gt;&lt;/tr&gt;  &lt;tr&gt;  &lt;td width=&quot;50%&quot;&gt;&lt;br&gt;&lt;/td&gt;  &lt;td width=&quot;50%&quot;&gt;&lt;br&gt;&lt;/td&gt;&lt;/tr&gt;  &lt;tr&gt;  &lt;td width=&quot;50%&quot;&gt;&lt;br&gt;&lt;/td&gt;  &lt;td width=&quot;50%&quot;&gt;  &lt;br&gt;&lt;/td&gt;&lt;/tr&gt;  &lt;tr&gt;  &lt;td width=&quot;50%&quot;&gt;  &lt;br&gt;&lt;/td&gt;  &lt;td width=&quot;50%&quot;&gt;&lt;br&gt;&lt;/td&gt;&lt;/tr&gt;  &lt;tr&gt;  &lt;td width=&quot;50%&quot;&gt;&lt;br&gt;&lt;/td&gt;  &lt;td width=&quot;50%&quot;&gt;&lt;br&gt;&lt;/td&gt;&lt;/tr&gt;  &lt;tr&gt;  &lt;td width=&quot;50%&quot;&gt;&lt;br&gt;&lt;/td&gt;  &lt;td width=&quot;50%&quot;&gt;&lt;br&gt;&lt;/td&gt;&lt;/tr&gt;  &lt;tr&gt;  &lt;td width=&quot;50%&quot;&gt;&lt;br&gt;&lt;/td&gt;  &lt;td width=&quot;50%&quot;&gt;&lt;br&gt;&lt;/td&gt;&lt;/tr&gt;  &lt;tr&gt;  &lt;td width=&quot;50%&quot;&gt;&lt;br&gt;&lt;/td&gt;  &lt;td width=&quot;50%&quot;&gt;&lt;br&gt;&lt;/td&gt;&lt;/tr&gt;  &lt;tr&gt;  &lt;td width=&quot;50%&quot;&gt;&lt;br&gt;&lt;/td&gt;  &lt;td width=&quot;50%&quot;&gt;&lt;br&gt;&lt;/td&gt;&lt;/tr&gt;  &lt;tr&gt;  &lt;td width=&quot;50%&quot;&gt;&lt;br&gt;&lt;/td&gt;  &lt;td width=&quot;50%&quot;&gt;&lt;br&gt;&lt;/td&gt;&lt;/tr&gt;  &lt;tr&gt;  &lt;td width=&quot;50%&quot;&gt;&lt;br&gt;&lt;/td&gt;  &lt;td width=&quot;50%&quot;&gt;&lt;br&gt;&lt;/td&gt;&lt;/tr&gt;  &lt;tr&gt;  &lt;td width=&quot;50%&quot;&gt;&lt;br&gt;&lt;/td&gt;  &lt;td width=&quot;50%&quot;&gt;&lt;br&gt;&lt;/td&gt;&lt;/tr&gt;  &lt;tr&gt;  &lt;td width=&quot;50%&quot;&gt;&lt;br&gt;&lt;/td&gt;  &lt;td width=&quot;50%&quot;&gt;&lt;br&gt;&lt;/td&gt;&lt;/tr&gt;  &lt;tr&gt;  &lt;td width=&quot;50%&quot;&gt;&lt;br&gt;&lt;/td&gt;  &lt;td width=&quot;50%&quot;&gt;&lt;br&gt;&lt;/td&gt;&lt;/tr&gt;  &lt;tr&gt;  &lt;td width=&quot;50%&quot;&gt;&lt;br&gt;&lt;/td&gt;  &lt;td width=&quot;50%&quot;&gt;&lt;br&gt;&lt;/td&gt;&lt;/tr&gt;&lt;/tbody&gt;&lt;/table&gt;&lt;br&gt;&lt;br&gt;&lt;br&gt;&lt;b&gt;R-Z&lt;br&gt;&lt;/b&gt;  &lt;table align=&quot;bottom&quot; cellpadding=&quot;3&quot; class=&quot;wp-border-rows&quot; width=&quot;100%&quot;&gt;  &lt;tbody&gt;  &lt;tr&gt;  &lt;td width=&quot;50%&quot;&gt;  &lt;i&gt;Term&lt;/i&gt;&lt;/td&gt;  &lt;td width=&quot;50%&quot;&gt;  &lt;i&gt;Definition&lt;/i&gt;&lt;/td&gt;&lt;/tr&gt;  &lt;tr&gt;  &lt;td width=&quot;50%&quot;&gt;&lt;br&gt;&lt;/td&gt;  &lt;td width=&quot;50%&quot;&gt;&lt;br&gt;&lt;/td&gt;&lt;/tr&gt;  &lt;tr&gt;  &lt;td width=&quot;50%&quot;&gt;&lt;br&gt;&lt;/td&gt;  &lt;td width=&quot;50%&quot;&gt;  &lt;br&gt;&lt;/td&gt;&lt;/tr&gt;  &lt;tr&gt;  &lt;td width=&quot;50%&quot;&gt;  &lt;br&gt;&lt;/td&gt;  &lt;td width=&quot;50%&quot;&gt;&lt;br&gt;&lt;/td&gt;&lt;/tr&gt;  &lt;tr&gt;  &lt;td width=&quot;50%&quot;&gt;&lt;br&gt;&lt;/td&gt;  &lt;td width=&quot;50%&quot;&gt;&lt;br&gt;&lt;/td&gt;&lt;/tr&gt;  &lt;tr&gt;  &lt;td width=&quot;50%&quot;&gt;&lt;br&gt;&lt;/td&gt;  &lt;td width=&quot;50%&quot;&gt;&lt;br&gt;&lt;/td&gt;&lt;/tr&gt;  &lt;tr&gt;  &lt;td width=&quot;50%&quot;&gt;&lt;br&gt;&lt;/td&gt;  &lt;td width=&quot;50%&quot;&gt;&lt;br&gt;&lt;/td&gt;&lt;/tr&gt;  &lt;tr&gt;  &lt;td width=&quot;50%&quot;&gt;&lt;br&gt;&lt;/td&gt;  &lt;td width=&quot;50%&quot;&gt;&lt;br&gt;&lt;/td&gt;&lt;/tr&gt;  &lt;tr&gt;  &lt;td width=&quot;50%&quot;&gt;&lt;br&gt;&lt;/td&gt;  &lt;td width=&quot;50%&quot;&gt;&lt;br&gt;&lt;/td&gt;&lt;/tr&gt;  &lt;tr&gt;  &lt;td width=&quot;50%&quot;&gt;&lt;br&gt;&lt;/td&gt;  &lt;td width=&quot;50%&quot;&gt;&lt;br&gt;&lt;/td&gt;&lt;/tr&gt;  &lt;tr&gt;  &lt;td width=&quot;50%&quot;&gt;&lt;br&gt;&lt;/td&gt;  &lt;td width=&quot;50%&quot;&gt;&lt;br&gt;&lt;/td&gt;&lt;/tr&gt;  &lt;tr&gt;  &lt;td width=&quot;50%&quot;&gt;&lt;br&gt;&lt;/td&gt;  &lt;td width=&quot;50%&quot;&gt;&lt;br&gt;&lt;/td&gt;&lt;/tr&gt;  &lt;tr&gt;  &lt;td width=&quot;50%&quot;&gt;&lt;br&gt;&lt;/td&gt;  &lt;td width=&quot;50%&quot;&gt;&lt;br&gt;&lt;/td&gt;&lt;/tr&gt;  &lt;tr&gt;  &lt;td width=&quot;50%&quot;&gt;&lt;br&gt;&lt;/td&gt;  &lt;td width=&quot;50%&quot;&gt;&lt;br&gt;&lt;/td&gt;&lt;/tr&gt;  &lt;tr&gt;  &lt;td width=&quot;50%&quot;&gt;&lt;br&gt;&lt;/td&gt;  &lt;td width=&quot;50%&quot;&gt;&lt;br&gt;&lt;/td&gt;&lt;/tr&gt;&lt;/tbody&gt;&lt;/table&gt;&lt;hr size=&quot;1&quot;&gt;&lt;br/&gt;</description></item><item><title>Dissertations</title><link>http://libraryguides.wetpaint.com/page/Dissertations</link><author>jewing</author><guid isPermaLink="false">http://libraryguides.wetpaint.com/page/Dissertations</guid><pubDate>Fri, 29 Feb 2008 16:57:50 CST</pubDate><description>Locating dissertations on your research topic is never easy and there is not just one comprehensive source (no matter what ProQuest says). The following list describes the resources available to you that include information about (indexing &amp;amp; abstracting) dissertations in the fields of psychology and religion. I also suggest you read the articles listed under &lt;a class=&quot;external&quot; href=&quot;http://libraryguides.wetpaint.comhttp://www.tren.com/resources.cfm?oid=sBirr1XlpDtzCot4ByL7dMdSdHGGijBFUIH89UreQQyfpv0GVI2RAh5jn3AqWgsJ&quot; rel=&quot;nofollow&quot; target=&quot;_blank&quot;&gt;Other Resources&lt;/a&gt; on the TREN website. &lt;br&gt;&lt;br&gt;&lt;b&gt;PsycINFO (ESBCO)&lt;/b&gt; - A dissertation filter is available on the results list. Do your search first, then click on Dissertation Abstracts. The records will give citation, subjects and abstract. &lt;i&gt;Advantages&lt;/i&gt;. The advantage to searching this database is the quality of the indexing using the APA thesaurus. Secondly, you are searching dissertations that have been determined to be important to the field of psychology by APA. &lt;br&gt;&lt;br&gt;&lt;b&gt;WorldCatDissertations (First Search)&lt;/b&gt; - A database of all the dissertations and theses available in WorldCat. You can get to the database by logging into the Research Database WorldCat and selecting the Databases tab -- it&amp;#39;s the last database on the list. This database only has citations to dissertations that have been cataloged into the participating libraries&amp;#39; catalogs. &lt;i&gt;Advantages&lt;/i&gt;. You now know which libraries have holdings and you might be able to Interlibrary Loan the dissertation. &lt;br&gt;&lt;br&gt;&lt;b&gt;Digital Dissertations (ProQuest)&lt;/b&gt; &amp;mdash; This database includes comprehensive coverage of arts &amp;amp; humanities &amp;amp; social science in academic U.S. research with indexing and abstracts to scholarly doctoral dissertations and master&amp;rsquo;s theses. Some records include 24 page preview of the dissertation and a link to Order a Copy. &lt;br&gt;&lt;br&gt;&lt;b&gt;ERIC &lt;/b&gt;- The world&amp;#39;s largest source of education information, containing abstracts of documents and journal articles on education research and practice, including descriptions and evaluations of programs, research reports and surveys, ...and dissertations. To search for dissertations in ERIC you need to use the web version (&lt;a class=&quot;external&quot; href=&quot;http://libraryguides.wetpaint.comhttp://www.eric.ed.gov/&quot; rel=&quot;nofollow&quot; target=&quot;_blank&quot;&gt;www.eric.ed.gov/&lt;/a&gt;), go to Advanced Search, under Publication Types, select Dissertations/Theses. &lt;i&gt;Advantages&lt;/i&gt;. If you are doing research involving children or young adults, some relevant research might be listed here. &lt;br&gt;&lt;br&gt;&lt;b&gt;Networked Digital Library of Theses and Dissertations&lt;/b&gt; - A catalog of electronic theses and dissertations at participating universities. (&lt;a class=&quot;external&quot; href=&quot;http://libraryguides.wetpaint.comhttp://www.ndltd.org/browse&quot; rel=&quot;nofollow&quot; target=&quot;_blank&quot;&gt;www.ndltd.org/browse&lt;/a&gt;) VTLS Visualizer has more filters of the result lists. Scirus ETD Search offers an Advanced Search with limits by search field (author, title, etc.), date range, and discipline/subject area. &lt;i&gt;Advantages&lt;/i&gt;. International in scope, searching digital collections (full text) in various formats. &lt;br&gt;&lt;br&gt;&lt;b&gt;Research in Ministry (RIM&amp;reg;) Online (ATLA)&lt;/b&gt; - RIM&amp;reg; Online is a freely available database (&lt;a href=&quot;http://libraryguides.wetpaint.com/page/rim.atla.com%2Fstar%2Frimonline_login.htm&quot; target=&quot;_self&quot;&gt;rim.atla.com/star/rimonline_login.htm&lt;/a&gt;) that indexes DMin and DMiss projects from reporting schools of theology accredited by the Association of Theological Schools in the United States and Canada. Indexing began in 1981. Author, title, project advisor, institution, and subject access are provided. In addition, an abstract for each project is included when one has been provided by the author. &lt;i&gt;Advantages&lt;/i&gt;. Biblical integration. ATS schools reporting research being done by member schools of theology. &lt;br&gt;&lt;br&gt;&lt;b&gt;Theological Research Exchange Network (TREN)&lt;/b&gt; - The Theological Research Exchange Network (&lt;a class=&quot;external&quot; href=&quot;http://libraryguides.wetpaint.comhttp://www.tren.com/&quot; rel=&quot;nofollow&quot; target=&quot;_blank&quot;&gt;www.tren.com/&lt;/a&gt;) is a library of over 10,000 theological thesis/dissertation titles representing research from as many as 70 different institutions. TREN also makes available conference papers presented at annual meetings of several academic societies. Very clunky searching but, hey, it&amp;#39;s free. Also citations only, but you can buy the print, CDROM, or fiche or order a digital e-doc. &lt;i&gt;Advantages&lt;/i&gt;. Biblical integration. TREN also has a great page under Other Resources which lists articles that might help you in your dissertation research. &lt;br&gt;&lt;br&gt;&lt;b&gt;Finding Full Text&lt;/b&gt; - Many of the databases mentioned only provide indexing and abstracts to dissertations. Digital Dissertations and TREN allow you to purchase copies in various formats. You can also try to borrow a copy from another library using &lt;a class=&quot;external&quot; href=&quot;http://libraryguides.wetpaint.comhttp://www.sdcc.edu/library/content.asp?id=77&quot; rel=&quot;nofollow&quot; target=&quot;_blank&quot;&gt;Interlibrary Loan&lt;/a&gt;. &lt;hr size=&quot;1&quot;&gt;&lt;br/&gt;</description></item></channel></rss>